Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

European Union : Library Resources

Basic information and resources for the study of the European Union.

European Union Reference Materials

Country Guides

Europa World Plus

Comprehensive, up-to-date source for general information on countries and international organizations including statistical surveys as well as demographic and economic statistics.  Includes critical essays on important issues in western and eastern-central Europe, with entries by country featuring geography, chronology, history, economy, statistical survey, directory, and bibliography.  Also contains a directory of regional research institutes, and a select bibliography.

Political Handbook of the World. 1927-.

328 P759

Discussion of governments, regional issues, and the intergovernmental organizations of the world. Indexed by geographic location, organizational name, and personal name. A chronology of major international events is also included.

The World Factbook. Central Intelligence Agency. 1981-.

320.3 Un3n1 (Main Reference) & Online

This source is produced annually for the use of US government officials. Each country entry includes a map, geographical description, and information on the peoples, government, economy and defense of the nation.

EIU Country Reports

From the Economist Intelligence Unit, this source provides in-depth information related to the political, social and economic status of many nations, including those within the European Union.

Political Risk Yearbook

This resource provides information on political, economic and social aspects of countries that includes a 3-5 year appraisal of country stability.

Article Databases