Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

BADM 395 Marketing Analytics

This resource guide has been created by Becky Smith for BADM 395

Company Research Databases

Company Research Databases

The chart below displays databases with company information that BIS subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.

Database Company Information Revenue/ Financials Industry Codes Products Competitors Investment Analysis SWOT Analysis Comparisons News
Business Source Ultimate        
Capital IQ (GIES only)        
Corporate Affiliation        
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)        
Hoover's  
IDTechEx          
Mergent Online      
Nexis Uni    
PrivCo        
ProQuest One Business              
Statista          

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate 

undefined

This is a comprehensive database of academic journals, book/monograph abstracts, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, magazines, market research reports, newspapers, product reviews, SWOT analysis, trade publications, and videos. 

To search for a company, type in the company name in the search box. Then in the Select a Field, click on CO Company Entity.

undefined

 

Scroll down and you can search for SWOT Analysis under Publication type or search for NAICS/Industry Code, Product Name, and Company/Entity.

 

undefined

 

 

Corporate Affiliations

Corporate Affiliations

This resource provides corporate linkage information on nearly 200,000 prominent corporations, including both public and private businesses throughout the world. Company records, which may date back as far as 1993 for some companies, include data about corporate hierarchy, business descriptions, and current financial data.

Please note: Only a limited number of users may use this database at once. If you are not able to gain access, try again at a later time.

Search by Company, Ticker, NAICS Code, or SIC Code. 

undefined

When the company profile loads, on the left hand side, you can select Competitors, Financial, NAICS, Products, and SIC.

undefined

Hoover's

Hoover's

undefined

Use this database to build a company list and search for company, industry and people profiles. Hoover's gives you access to best in class data made up of approximately 84 million private and public companies, including subsidiaries. Below is a screenshot of the company list builder and its criteria. 

Search for a company in the search box or click on Build a Company List

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data. Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Annual reports for most companies are available back to 1996.

In the search bar, type in a company name. 

undefined

Once you find the company you're searching for, pay attention to the tabs (red box) that include Company Details, Financial Details, and Industry Details

undefined

 

 

 

Nexis Uni

undefinedundefinedundefined 
Nexis Uni provides full text and summaries of articles from over 40,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, wire services, trade journals, etc., in addition to allowing you to generate lists of companies using criteria that you select. Articles are available for download, email, print or can be sent directly to Google Docs in a variety of formats including pdf, docx and xlsx. In order to download articles, make sure to enable pop-ups for advance.lexis.com 

undefinedTo search for company profiles, select the Company Info box on the home page and select Company Profile from the drop-down to search for a company by name.

PrivCo

PrivCo

"Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies." Contains data on over 650,000 U.S. private companies, over 100,000 private market deals and venture capital fundings, and over 18,000 private market market investors. May search by keyword as well as by industry.


Access is free for University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign users, but you must create an account. Sign up with your university e-mail address from the main page. 

Search by company name and press GO or conduct an Advanced Search by clicking on the magnifying glass on the left hand side (see red box below).

 

undefined

 

Statista

Statista

 

Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided. Data sets can conveniently be downloaded as an image, pdf, Excel file, or PowerPoint.

 

In the search bar, type in the company name.

 

When the results load, you can limit the results by clicking Dossiers, Statistics, and Infographics

undefined

Capital IQ - for Gies College Students and Faculty Only

Published by S&P Global, this resource provides data on public and private companies, M&A deals, and executives and boards.  Gies students and faculty must sign up for your own account first to use it.