LibGuides: Arms Control, Domestic & International Security: Journals and Databases

About this Page

Databases can be a great starting point to find journal articles or government documents. On this page you'll find databases pertaining to arms control issues as well as specific journals that focus on various subjects in arms control and security studies.

Journals

Arms Control Today
The monthly publication of the Arms Control Association.
Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists
Insight into global security, policy matters and weapons of mass destruction. The keeper of the symbolic "Doomsday Clock".
Contemporary Security Policy
One of the oldest peer reviewed journals in international conflict and security, Contemporary Security Policy promotes theoretically-based research on policy problems of armed violence, peace building and conflict resolution.
Disarmament Times
The quarterly publication of the NGO Committee on Disarmament, Peace and Security. Founded in 1978, Disarmament Times covers a broad range of disarmament-, peace- and security-related issues.
The Nonproliferation Review
The Nonproliferation Review is a refereed journal concerned with the causes, consequences, and control of the spread of nuclear, chemical, biological, and conventional weapons.
Peace Review
A quarterly, multidisciplinary, transnational journal of research and analysis, focusing on the current issues and controversies that underlie the promotion of a more peaceful world.
Science & Global Security
An international journal for peer-reviewed scientific and technical studies relating to arms control, disarmament, and nonproliferation policy.
Security Studies
The journal publishes theoretical, historical, and policy-oriented articles on the causes and consequences of war, and the sources and conditions of peace.
Swords and Ploughshares
(1986-present) A periodic journal published by the Program in Arms Control, Domestic & International Security (ACDIS) at the University of Illinois. Each issue features a collection of articles focusing on a coherent international security topic.

Databases

The International Relations Security Network - one of the world’s leading open access information services for both professionals and students who focus on international relations (IR) and security studies.
ALSOS Digital Library for Nuclear Issues - This digital library provides a vetted, annotated bibliography of over 3,000 books, articles, films, CDs, and websites about a broad range of nuclear issues.
Web of Knowledge . 1955-. An interdisciplinary index to academic literature. Identifies articles in science, social science, and arts and humanities, and the articles that cite them. Indexes the top journals in most academic fields, providing complete bibliographic information and full length author abstracts. Search for articles on a particular topic, or search for articles that have cited a known article. All of an article's references are listed and can be used to search for related articles with common citations. Composed of three databases that can be searched together or individually: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index Expanded.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD ... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
This database includes 55 collections of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
Keesing's World News Archives This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of articles from: Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and: Keesing's record of world events, 1987-. Provides a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events.
Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including International Journal of Peace Studies, International Journal on World Peace, and Conflict Management & Peace Science. Coverage from 1964.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites ... Provides cover-to-cover full text to nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.