Introduction
Reference sources are a great place to start your research when you need to gather initial information about a topic or get a rough overview of a subject so you can decide what areas to research further. Reference books and online tools are also excellent for looking up a quick fact, definition, or date, and they will often direct you to more sources.
If none of the recommended resources are quite what you're looking for, try a search in the Library catalog for the subject you're researching and "reference", "handbook", "guide", or "companion" to see what reference materials we might have on the subject. Remember that you can always reach out to a librarian for help if your search doesn't turn up promising results!
Selected Reference Sources
The Oxford illustrated companion to South Indian classical music by Call Number: MPAL ML338 .P414O9 2009An indispensable and enriching reference for the connoisseur, practicing musician and dancer, interested amateur, impresario, teacher, and student, this completely revised, updated, and enlarged edition will also inform and engage anybody keen on learning more about Indian culture.
Classical music of India : a practical guide by Call Number: MPAL ML338 .S86 2018Classical Music of India discusses in depth the melodic and rhythmic aspects of both Carnatic and Hindustani, briefly comparing these concepts with the classical music of Europe. There is a lucid comparison of the two Indian forms, an examination of instruments integral to them and a re-examination of fundamental concepts. An expanded, revised and updated reissue of the classic this work is a definitive appraisal of Indian classical music.
Ragas in Indian music by Call Number: Oak St Library Vaults Request Online ; 781.2640954 K897rRagas in Indian music : a complete reference source for Carnatic ragas, Hindustani ragas, western scales, Kathakali ragas and Tamil panns, with Carnatic notation, staff notation, ʻABCʼ notation, synonyms, raga types, swara names, varjya swaras, intervals, sruthi bedhams and piano rolls
Ragadhana : an alpha-numerical directory of Ragas by Call Number: MPAL Stacks ; ML338 P414R2 1993
The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicCall Number: Online Resource; also in print MPAL Reference Non-circulating ML100 G27The definitive reference tool for ethnomusicology. Divided into 10 volumes by geographic area: Vol. 1 Africa; Vol. 2 South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean; Vol. 3 The United States and Canada; Vol. 4 Southeast Asia; Vol. 5 South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent; Vol. 6 The Middle East; Vol. 7 East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea; Vol. 8 Europe; Vol. 9 Australia and the Pacific Islands; Vol. 10 The World's Music: General Perspectives and Reference Tools. The tenth volume contains useful information (like glossaries, indexes, bibliographies, and discographies). Accompanying CDs can be obtained at the Circulation Desk.
Bloomsbury Music & SoundBloomsbury Music and Sound is a growing digital hub that provides access to exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship, and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies. To browse: go to the menu at the top and choose Explore > Place to choose a country or choose Browse Contents > World Map to select a region of the world.
Ethnomusicology: a guide to research by Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating ML128.E8 P67This guide is an annotated bibliography of books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of ethnomusicology. Part One includes handbooks and guides; encyclopedias and dictionaries; indexes and bibliographies; journals; media sources; and archives. Part Two provides a list of current publications in the field that are widely used by ethnomusicologists.