Copyright Basics
When writing your dissertation or composing your final project, you must get permission before using any musical excerpts in your document or composition.
The University of Illinois has a page devoted to copyright information published by the Thesis Office. It includes checklists and other resources to help you determine whether you need permission to use someone else's material and how to secure it. MPAL also has a guide to help you navigate the complexities of music copyright.
- Thesis Office: Copyright ToolsThe Thesis Office has put together a list of copyright related tools. It includes a variety of reference guides, fair use checklists, and a sample permission request letter if you need to ask to use someone else's work.
Getting Permission
Print Music
Depending on the composer/publisher of the work you want to excerpt, you must contact the publisher or one of the copyright clearance resources below. Permission to use materials, including music, must be obtained IN ADVANCE of the intended use.
- ASCAPThe American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers. Includes a searchable database of songs and composers.
- BMIBroadcast Music, Inc. includes a searchable database of BMI-represented composers and artists.
- Music Publishers Association: Copyright ResourcesA guide to finding who owns the copyright to a composition. Includes a form that can be printed and submitted to the owner.
Recorded Music
If you are writing a composition and want to "sample" another composition, you may need to acquire permission to do so. Permission to use materials, including music, must be obtained IN ADVANCE of the intended use.
- Harry Fox AgencyInformation source, clearing house, and monitoring service for licensing musical copyrights. They license the largest percentage of the mechanical and digital uses of music in the United States on CDs, digital services, records, tapes and imported phonorecords.
- RIAAThe Recording Industry Association of America is the trade organization that supports and promotes the creative and financial vitality of the major music companies.