Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music & Performing Arts Library
UIUC also subscribes to many historic newspaper files (e.g., The London Times) which can have concert reviews and other contemporaneous accounts of 19th century composers and their music.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
An index to more than eighty historical music periodicals in thirteen languages, published primarily in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. (RIPM is the acronym for Répertoire international de la presse musicale.)
19th Century Masterfile
Indexes nineteenth century literature, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and government publications.
Eighteenth Century Journals
Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1835 brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Periodicals Index Online
An index to tables of contents of periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides access, where available, to page images in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO). (When no corresponding text is available in PAO, an E-link is displayed.) PIO and PAO were once parts of a single database, called PCI Full Text.
Victorian Database Online
Victorian Database provides references of articles in 500+ journals on Painting; Music; Philosophy and Religion; Histories of Britain and its British Colonial Empire; Sociology, Women's Studies, Education; Science, Technology; and Literature.
If your topic is interdisciplinary, or if you want context for your topic outside of the music world, you should consider using a non-music-specific journal database. The University subscribes to hundreds, covering just about every subject. Here are a few suggestions. For databases from the Ebsco vendor you can choose to search them simultaneously.
Humanities and General
Academic Search Ultimate
Identifies articles in most scholarly subject areas including social sciences, humanities, education computer sciences, engineering, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Alternative Press Index
Identifies full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from the alternative and independent press. (Great for hip-hop and other popular music topics.)
America: History & Life
Identifies U.S. and Canadian history from journals, book reviews, dissertations, and media reviews.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
ERIC - EBSCO
Identifies articles and documents on education research and practice.
Identifies publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Identifies articles from journals, newspapers and reference books. A comprehensive source for news, business, and legal information.
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics.
As a graduate student, you will frequently need to go beyond the "quick search." Either you will need things that are older than are contained in the standard music journal databases, or your research will be interdisciplinary and will take you to areas beyond RILM and MI.
> Historical Coverage
> Interdisciplinary Tools
> Beyond Music
Area Studies (i.e., country-specific)
(Acoustics, physics of music, computers in music, etc.)