Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When writing your thesis or dissertation or composing your final project, you must get permission to use any musical excerpts in your document or compostion where necessary.
The University of Illinois provides information concerning copyright via the Thesis Office. Students may find the listed resources helpful in making and documenting their own determination of whether permission is required for the use of previously copyrighted material.
The Music & Performing Arts Library has also created a Copyright Basics guide that might be helpful.
Depending on the composer/publisher of the work you want to excerpt, you must contact the publisher or one of the copyright clearance resources below. Permission to use materials, including music, must be obtained IN ADVANCE of the intended use.
The American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers. Includes a searchable database of songs and composers.
Broadcast Music, Inc. includes a searchable database of BMI-represented composers and artists.
MPA Copyright Search Center
A guide to finding who owns the copyright to a composition. Includes a form that can be printed and submitted to the owner.
A performing rights organization designed to represent songwriters and publishers and their right to be compensated for having their music performed in public.
If you are writing a composition and want to "sample" another composition, you may need to acquire permission to do so. Permission to use materials, including music, must be obtained IN ADVANCE of the intended use.
ASCAP has extensive licensing FAQs.
Harry Fox Agency
Information source, clearing house, and monitoring service for licensing musical copyrights. They license the largest percentage of the mechanical and digital uses of music in the United States on CDs, digital services, records, tapes and imported phonorecords.
The Recording Industry Association of America is the trade organization that supports and promotes the creative and financial vitality of the major music companies.
Policy on Public Performance of Music
The Golda Meir Library at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee provides information on the use of sound recordings.