New Global History - Mission Statement: "[T]o encourage both theorizing and the carrying out of empirical research concerning the processes of globalization....employing both a historical (in which history is conceived of in interdisciplinary terms) and a transcultural perspective."
Pew Research Center - The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. In this role it serves as a valuable information resource for political leaders, journalists, scholars and citizens.
Departments at UIUC Relating to Language and Culture
Department of Anthropology - As anthropologists, we explore the human condition across time and space. Whether through the study of unburied artifacts, the human genome, grammatical categories or religious ritual, our mission is a holistic enterprise facing a fragmented world.
Department of Linguistics - The Linguistics Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is one of the oldest, largest, and most distinguished departments of linguistics in the United States, attracting students from all over the world. With faculty members covering all major areas of linguistic research, the department offers a large number of undergraduate and graduate courses, as well as B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degree programs.
Department of Landscape Architecture - The Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is among the oldest programs of landscape architecture and is a leader in professional development and scholarship. Students in the program benefit from internationally recognized faculty, state of the art research and educational facilities, and a supportive professional community.
Department of French - The Department of French at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, provides a rich program with ample opportunities for interdisciplinary study and with important strengths in literary interpretation, critical theory, the study of civilization, cinema, theoretical and applied linguistics, and computer-assisted teaching.
Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures - We teach German and Scandinavian languages, and offer courses in literary and cultural studies from the Middle Ages to the present, in historical and applied linguistics, and in film studies and critical theory.
Department of Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese - As part of a premier research institution, our goal is to create and advance cutting-edge new knowledge in the study of the languages, literatures and cultures of the Spanish, Italian and Portuguese-speaking worlds, Hispanic and Romance linguistics and second language acquisition thereby producing the next generation of leaders in these academic fields and other related areas of knowledge.
Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA): LBAA identifies publications including books, book reviews, book chapters, journal articles, working papers and dissertations on all aspects of language studies such as phonetics, applied linguistics, learning disabilities and morphology.
BITRA. Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation - Identifies articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations on translation and interpreting. Online coverage with selected links to full text articles:1796-Present, updated monthly
eHRAF World Cultures: eHRAF World Cultures identifies information describing cultural practices worldwide.
American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies: American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies offers indexed journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Subject areas include anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. The literature was originally published in the U.S. and Canada from 1939-present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide - a database providing comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
Index Islamicus: Index Islamicus identifies publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. Index Islamicus includes content published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims from 1906 - present. Oxford Islamic Studies Online: Oxford Islamic Studies Online identifies primary and secondary sources through searching or browsing on Islamic topics. Oxford Islamic Studies Online also provides timelines and learning resources. Encyclopedia of Islam - The Encyclopedia of Islam has long been the definitive publication covering the whole scope of Islamic religion, life, and culture.
Historical Abstracts: Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present in over 40 languages with publications starting in 1955. Historical Abstracts started a project in 2006 to extend coverage through the late 1800s.
Cambridge Histories Online - This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
Victorian Database Online (1945- ) Search over 110,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 2013 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.