Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Global Studies: Informatics, Communication, and the Media

Global Studies is a multi-disciplinary and interdisciplinary subject area that explores the concept of globalization and the interrelationships of peoples and states.

About this page

This page contains sources for the research of new information technologies; dissemination of public and private information using new forms of media and social communication networks; governmental policies; and social and political and security impacts.

Policy Research Centers

  • A2K Network - Access to Knowledge (A2K) Network is predicated upon the fact that intellectual property rights (IPRs) are a consumer issue, not just an issue for business.
  • Chatham House: The Royal Institute of International Affairs - Chatham House's mission is to be a world-leading source of independent analysis, informed debate and influential ideas on how to build a prosperous and secure world for all.
  • Intellectual Property Watch - Intellectual Property Watch, a non-profit independent news service, reports on the interests and behind-the-scenes dynamics that influence the design and implementation of international intellectual property policies.
  • International Center for Journalists "The International Center for Journalists, a non-profit, professional organization, promotes quality journalism worldwide in the belief that independent, vigorous media are crucial in improving the human condition."
  • International IP and public Interest - "We blog about issues related to international IP, open access initiatives, and efforts to expand access to knowledge-based goods.  The site also contains pointers to legislation, trade agreements, and other original documents."
  • National Board of Information Security Examiners - Mission Statement: "[T]o create a suite of certifications that sets the standards for conduct, professionalism, and practice in a range of information security disciplines."

Departments at UIUC Relating to Informatics, Communication, and Media

  • Graduate School of Library and Information ScienceThe Graduate School of Library and Information Science is dedicated to shaping the future of information through research, education, and engagement, both public and professional. Our mission is to lead the way in understanding the use of information in science, culture, society, commerce, and the diverse activities of our daily lives.
  • Department of Communication - The department offers several major areas of study, including Communication and Culture, Communication and Health, Communication and Organizations, Interpersonal Communication, Mediated Communication and Technology, and Rhetoric and Public Discourse.
  • Department of JournalismThe Department of Journalism has been a part of making history and teaching students how to report it for more than 75 years. It is the birthplace of Public Broadcasting and the alma mater of winners of the Pulitzer Prize, Emmy Award and Peabody Award.

Communication and Information Security Sources

Online Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

International IP Protection

International Intellectual Property Protection
IP protection has gone beyond the national borders. This site via USPTO provides information about the IP protection systems in the United Nations, European Union and other countries.

Industrial Property in the European Union (EU)  
As a part of the European Commission, this page gives an overview of practical IP issues in the EU.

Oxford Intellectual Property Research Center  
Provides some full text research articles on international IP protection.

 

International and Regional Intellectual Property Organizations

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

WIPO Arbitration & Mediation Center

International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV)

World Trade Organization (WTO) Intellectual Property Page

Copyright Legislation and Regulations

17 U.S. Code via GPO FDsys (2011)
Provides official sources on Copyright. Search steps: GPO FDsys Home Page>Featured Collections "U.S. code" > "Choose Year"> "TITLE 17--Copyright"

37 Code of Federal Regulations via GPO FDsys
Provide current regulations on Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights. Search steps: GPO FDsys Home Page> Featured Collections "Code of Federal Regulation">"Choose Year">Scroll down to "Title 37"

U.S. Code 17  
Via Cornell Legal Information Institute Site, U.S. Code 17 is available in full text. 

37 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)  
Via Cornell Legal Information Institute Site, provides 37 CFR in full-text. 

Copyright and Fair Use 
Hosted by Stanford University, provides sources on introduction to Copyright and sources of Copyright legislation.

 

Other Sources on Copyright Issues

IEEE Intellectual Property Rights
Provides background information about technology and IP.

Copyright Guidance: Basics  
Via Yale University Library. A comprehensive site for finding both university and non-university resources on Intellectual Property Rights, especially copyright issues. 

Copyright Site via UC Berkeley  
A comprehensive site for search references, laws and academic articles on Copyright issues. 

A Guide to Copyright for Music Librarians 
This site is sponsored by the Legislation Committee of the Music Library Association. A good source for searching copyright laws concerning music works. 

Software and Copyright Issues 
Provided by W3C site. Its Frequently Asked Questions are helpful to understand Software and Copyright issues.

Books on this Topic from the CGS Virtual Bookshelf

Browse these titles from the Center for Global Studies Virtual Bookshelf, or search the bookshelf yourself to find more!