Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this page
This page includes sources for global studies educators, and other sources to support research in global studies education.
Policy Research Centers
- Adam Smith Institute - This institute works with politicians from all sides, and engineers policies which are not just economically sound, but calibrated to be politically deliverable too.
- Chatham House: The Royal Institute of International Affairs - Chatham House's mission is to be a world-leading source of independent analysis, informed debate and influential ideas on how to build a prosperous and secure world for all.
- European Policy Center - The European Policy Centre (EPC) is an independent, not-for-profit think tank, committed to making European integration work.
- Heinrich Boell Foundation - The Heinrich Böll Foundation is part of the Green political movement that has developed worldwide as a response to the traditional politics of socialism, liberalism, and conservatism.
- International Crisis Group - The International Crisis Group is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict.
- New Global History - Mission Statement: "[T]o encourage both theorizing and the carrying out of empirical research concerning the processes of globalization....employing both a historical (in which history is conceived of in interdisciplinary terms) and a transcultural perspective."
- Overseas Development Institute - ODI is Britain's leading independent think tank on international development and humanitarian issues.
- The Observatory on Borderless Higher Education - Mission Statement: "[T]o provide strategic research, data, and information for institutional/organisational leaders and policy-makers to make informed decisions relevant to their current and future transnational higher education initiatives."
- World Policy Institute - Mission Statement: To develop and champion "innovative policies that require a progressive and global point of view[, focusing on] complex challenges that demand cooperative policy solutions to achieve: an inclusive and sustainable global market economy, engaged global civic participation and effective governance, and collaborative approaches to national and global security."
Departments at UIUC Relating to Global Studies Education
- Department of Education Policy, Organization and Leadership - The department fosters an interdisciplinary understanding of educational policy and practice across traditional divides among philosophers, historians, social scientists, organizational theorists, policy analysts, and educational administrators.
- Department of Curriculum and Instruction - The department emphasizes preparation and continuing professional development of early childhood, elementary and secondary teachers and teacher educators.
- Department of Educational Psychology - "[W]e pride ourselves in preparing graduate students for positions as university professors, researchers, counseling psychologists, and testing, measurement and evaluation specialists."
- Department of History - "We are History, your gateway to understanding the origins of the globe's grand challenges and the history of efforts to solve them. Here in History we take great pride and pleasure in applying critical analysis to our knowledge of the past."
- Department of Sociology - The Sociology major at the University of Illinois prepares a student for a variety of career options, developing skills ranging from research design to writing and presenting reports to diversity awareness.
Some Helpful Electronic Resources
The following electronic resources include statistical publications, index and abstracting services, and other electronic resources for work in K-12 education.
- Education Full Text - Indexes and abstracts articles from English-language journals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
- Awesome Library - The web site of the Awesome Library covers material from arts to technology. This site provides lesson plans for most subject areas and includes links to other informational sources that can be drawn upon to create original lesson plans. The extensive listings about multicultural holidays and current events are especially useful.
- Filamentaly - Includes educational sites in twelve subject areas, including the arts, business, foreign languages, science, vocational education, and more. Sites are categorized as web-based tutorials, activities, projects, unit and lesson plans, hotlists (lists of links), reference sources and tools, and other resources. It allows users to browse by subject area or type of site, or to conduct searches by grade level, type of site, subject, Dewey number, or keyword. Sites are rated according to a five-star system and are annotated.
- Caretakers of the Environment International - According to the mission statement, CEI tries to establish a worldwide network of secondary school teachers and students who are actively concerned about environmental issues and who are willing to do something about these issues through their education and their action-taking.
- Digest of Education Statistics - This is one of the many publications found at the site supported by the National Center for Education Statistics. It is the authoritative site for statistics on almost every aspect of education.
- GlobalSchoolNet - From the website: "Global SchoolNet's mission is to support 21st century learning. We engage teachers and students in meaningful project learning exchanges with people around the world to develop literacy and communication skills, foster teamwork and collaboration, encourage workforce preparedness and create multi-cultural understanding." This resource for educators is an iEARN based project.
- Global Education Checklist - A self-assessment tool that provides questions regarding students for teachers, about schools for principals, teachers, and community leaders, for local school systems through superintendents, curriculum directors and academic specialists, as well as questions for state education agencies.
- The Globalist - May also provide some interesting materials for the classroom. Although targeted at an advanced audience, much of the information and several of the links on these pages might find their way into your teaching.
- iEARN - Unites over 6000 schools from 92 countries working on joint classroom projects via Internet (see Projects on their main page).
- International Partners or Projects Place - Provides a clearinghouse for international projects related specifically to education. You can search for a project to participate in or begin your own.
- Thinkfinity - This site is supported by the Verizon Foundation. You can browse resources by theme or subject, and also search for specific materials. This site includes games, maps, activities, booklists, and more under the educatorís resources, but there are also resources for students, parents, and afterschool activities.
Some Helpful Print Resources
- African American Education Data Book - This source contains a wealth of statistical information about African American students in the American educational system. Statistics include, but are not limited to, performance on a variety of standardized tests, employment status relative to education, and level of educational attainment.
- Biographical Dictionary of American Educators - Compiled and written by several hundred American educators, this source contains biographical information for approximately 1,665 individuals who have established themselves as leading figures in the field of education.
- A Digest of Supreme Court Decisions Affecting Education - This ready reference source focuses on U.S. Supreme Court cases directly affecting students and staff in public and private schools from kindergarten through grade 12. The topics included in the seven chapters of the work deal with school district governance and finance, church state relationship in education, student rights and responsibilities, employee rights and responsibilities, discrimination, disability, national origin, race and sex issues, civil rights cases, special rules, and procedural parameters. A glossary, an appendix, a table of cases and an index are included.
- The Encyclopedia of Education - This eight-volume encyclopedia provides detailed explanations for many of the terms and concepts related to the study of education. In addition to the general information provided by this source, its 8th volume provides detailed entries for court cases, legislation, and international agreements that have influenced the history of education.
- International Enclyclopedia of Education - The field of education has experienced extraordinary technological, societal and institutional change in recent years, making it one of the most fascinating yet complex fields of study in social science. Unequalled in its combination of authoritative scholarship and comprehensive coverage, International Encyclopedia of Education 3rd edition succeeds two highly successful previous editions (1985, 1994) in aiming to encapsulate research in this vibrant field for the twenty-first century reader. Under development for five years, this work encompasses over 1,350 articles across 24 individual areas.
- Greenwood Dictionary of Education -This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society
- Key Concepts in the Philosophy of Education - Key Concepts in the Philosophy of Education is a guide to the key terms and concepts pertaining to the history and philosophy of education. An introduction provides a survey that discusses the relevance of the subject. Over 150 concepts are described and analyzed in this book, which also contains an extensive bibliography.
- Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States - This book is one of the best sources for demographic statistics (broken down by race) in the United States. Divided into several major categories, statistical information is available for issues and topics such as: education, employment, family, health, sex, fertility, and contraception, religion, crime, and political participation. Statistics are complied using information from the U.S. Bureau of the Census, the National Survey of Family Growth and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics among other sources.
These titles are available in the Reference Collection of the Education and Social Science Library at the University of Illinois. A more in-depth guide to print resources in education can be found at the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library.
Books on this Topic from the CGS Virtual Bookshelf
Browse these titles from the Center for Global Studies Virtual Bookshelf, or search the bookshelf yourself to find more!
International and Area Studies Library
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies