Global Studies as a Field of Study includes a broad and interdisciplinary range of research and pedagogical practices focusing on the connections and interdependencies among actors and stakeholders around the world.
World Digital Library: A Library of Congress associated website, the World Digital Library provides documents about the world from around the world from 8000 BCE through the present.
OCED iLibrary: OCED iLibrary allows users to either search or brows for information in books, papers, statistics, fact books or glossaries on global studies topics.
Women’s Studies International: Womans Studies International identifies articles, books, chapters, conference papers, gray literature and media on women's studies and feminism world wide from 1864 – present.
GenderWatch - With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women.
Bibliography of Books About Women in the Middle East Many of the entries were taken from the book, Women in the Middle East and North Africa: an Annotated Bibliography by Ayad al-Qazzaz which includes abstracts. A few other abstracts have been included for more current works and, over time, more abstracts will be added.
CABI Global Health and CAB Abstracts: CABI Global Health and CAB Abstracts identifies scientific resources within the applied health sciences fields including biomedical life sciences, public health, health promotion, public health emergencies, epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, nutrition and food sciences, infectious diseases and parasitology, tropical and international health, diagnosis and therapy of disease and health systems.
Global Disease Alert Map - An interactive global map of emerging infectious diseases, updated constantly with new information from an aggregate of worldwide sources.
The World Bank Health Data - An aggregate of health data from various multinational sources, covering health systems, disease prevention, and population dynamics.
Political Sciences and Public Affairs
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online): CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) includes comprehensive information on international affairs and policy studies from sources such as books, journals, policy briefs, the working papers of university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences.
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts identifies citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy from 1976 – present.
CQ Global Researcher: CQ Global Researcher includes topic reports on global affairs issues from international viewpoints that users can search or browse for in order to learn more about that topic and find additional related resources.
International Political Science Abstracts: International Political Science Abstracts identifies articles on political science issues such as government theory, political processes and national and area studies.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Services): PAIS identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues from 1915 – present.
GEOBASE: GEOBASE is a database of research on geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Web of Science: Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science identifies articles, reviews, proceeding papers, editorial reviews, news items and many other content formats on subjects with in the sciences including but not limited to environmental sciences, engineering, food sciences, life sciences and geography.
CSA Sociological Abstracts: CSA Sociological Abstracts identifies abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 – present.
Social Sciences Citation Index: Social Sciences Citation Index includes journal articles and cited references in anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science, library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
SocIndex: ScoIndex identifies full text publications, research and content on social issues worldwide from 1880 – present.
FRANCIS: This database provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social science research.
Index Islamicus: Index Islamicus identifies publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. Index Islamicus includes content published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims from 1906 - present. Oxford Islamic Studies Online: Oxford Islamic Studies Online identifies primary and secondary sources through searching or browsing on Islamic topics. Oxford Islamic Studies Online also provides timelines and learning resources. Encyclopedia of Islam - The Encyclopedia of Islam has long been the definitive publication covering the whole scope of Islamic religion, life, and culture.
Historical Abstracts: Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present in over 40 languages with publications starting in 1955. Historical Abstracts started a project in 2006 to extend coverage through the late 1800s.
Cambridge Histories Online - This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
Victorian Database Online (1945- ) Search over 110,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 2013 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.