Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Global Studies: Facts and Figures

Global Studies is a multi-disciplinary and interdisciplinary subject area that explores the concept of globalization and the interrelationships of peoples and states.

About this page

This page includes some helpful links to find basic country information and reference resources.

Online Reference Resources

  • Credo Reference: Credo Reference provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, a crossword solver and measurement conversions.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library: Gale Virtual Reference Library identifies reference sources through browsing or searching in the areas of art, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science and social science.
  • Oxford Digital Reference: Oxford Digital Reference provides access to 25 different subject encyclopedias on topics like global change, human rights, world exploration and social work.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias (in print and online)

If a circulating item is checked out and you would like to use it, ask a librarian for help finding copies in I-Share or obtaining a copy through inter-library loan. 

Environmental

This Encyclopedia provides 540 entries on global warming topics such as abrupt climate change, amazon deforestation, ecosystems, global monitoring, the little ice age, reefs, and sustainable development. 
This Encyclopedia  includes 300 articles on topics such as tsunamis, ocean pollution, mining regulation and permafrost melting. Categories covered in the encyclopedia include altered ecosystems, food and water supply, climate change, politics and global change, populations, biographies, institutions and policies and case studies.

Geography

The Encyclopedia Science contains entries from best-known GIScience scholars and scholarly experts from related GIScience disciplines.
  • Leonard, Thomas M., eds.   Encyclopedia of Latin America.  New York : Facts On File, c2010. Main Stacks: Q. 980.01303 En195 (all volumes circulate) 
This Encyclopedia is a four-volume set discussing the culture and history of South America, the Caribbean and Central America from its settlement through today. Volume one explores the early settlements of the Incas through the 1500s. Volume two explores the Spanish arrival and colonization through the 1820s. Volume three explores the 19  th and early 20  th century Latin American identity development. Volume four explores how Latin America claims its place in international politics, becomes influential worldwide and experiences globalization.

Global Health

This Encyclopedia discusses the globalization of health care, chronicles important events and changes within global health and discusses global health topics such as: children’s health, global health in countries across the world, drugs and drug companies, organizations and associations and procedures and therapies. 

Globalization

This Encyclopedia is a four-volume set with 575 essays listed alphabetically ranging from 500 words to 3,000 words. Topics covered include but are no limited to: biological and energy resources, environment, geological processes and formations, laws and conventions, obtaining and using resources, agencies and programs, pollution and waste disposal, social, economic and political issues and plant and animal resources. Encyclopedia includes appendices.
This Encyclopedia discusses the ethnic groups in Europe that have migrated to Europe or within Europe. Section one covers regions in countries in Europe over the last centuries. Section two profiles 220 migrant groups from the 17 th century through today.​
This Encyclopedia covers the development, history and current state of some of the world’s most profitable industries. Entries discuss the impact of an industry economically and socially, its size, its work force, its development, how it is organized and the countries and companies within the industry, with rankings.
  • Robertson, Roland and Jan Aart Scholte, eds.  Encyclopedia Of Globalization . New York : Routledge, 2007. International Areas and Studies Reference [non-circulating]: Q. 303.48203 En195

This Encyclopedia covers organizations, concepts and events associated with globalization. Topics such as anthropology, media, economics, communications, history, environment sociology, law, political economic development and politics are discussed in their relations to globalization. Several individual topics are also covered and section v.4 includes primary sources that are not listed as such in the table of contents. This encyclopedia is written for readers at the high school level and above.

Politics and Religion

This Encyclopedia is a two-volume set that traces the Buddhism history, how Buddhism blended with other religions, the Buddhist world-outlook, basic teachings and practices and the different Buddhist sects and schools. This encyclopedia also covers subjects such as Buddhist architecture, monastic orders, festivals and scriptures.
  • Combs, Cindy C. and Martin Slann, eds.   Encyclopedia of Terrorism . Rev. ed. New York : Facts On File, c2007. Education Reference [non-circulating]: Q. 303.62503 C33e2007

This Encyclopedia includes 300 alphabetical entries that look at the most dangerous terrorist organization and characters, their biggest motivations and the victims of terrorist attacks. Emphasis is given to modern terrorism, however historical examples are included. Appendices are also included. 

  • Esposito, John L., eds.  The Oxford History of Islam.  New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, c1999. Main Stacks: 297.09 Ox2 and Undergrad Library: BP50 .O95 1999 (all copies circulate) 
The Oxford History of Islam is a four-volume set, which includes 300 illustrations and presents an extensive explanation of Islam.  Chapters cover Islam from its beginnings through its development until the present. Subjects covered include the historical meeting of Christianity and Islam, Islam’s growth in Asia and Africa and religious challenges.
The Encyclopedia   includes 250 cross-referenced entries on important organizations, military, diplomatic, economic and political vocabulary. This encyclopedia includes information on sub-fields such as foreign policy analysis, historical sociology, comparative politics, international political economy, strategic studies, ethics, military affairs, international history and international political theory.
  • Himelstein, Shmuel,  Fred Skolnik, and Geoffrey Wigoder, eds.  The New Encyclopedia of Judaism . New York : New York University Press, c2002.  UIUC Online Collection
The Encyclopedia covers all aspects of the religion and discusses the present philosophy of scholars among all three movements.

The Encyclopedia looks at the origins of how religion and politics have molded national and international policy, social outlooks, public dialogue and communal action and explains their effects over the past to centuries.

Poverty and Human Rights

This encyclopedia contains entries for about 150 concepts and terms, 100 documents, 45 organizations and 46 people. Entries include options for finding further information about the topics discussed such as websites, documents, standards and further reading.

This encyclopedia includes 800 entries listed alphabetically discussing poverty and related global issues. About 150 entries cover organizations from small to large. Over 40 articles cover specific important individuals. Other articles analyze poverty causes and effects and their treatment and discuss its history. About 76 articles work to define and measure poverty. Articles are cross-referenced. Bibliographies and two appendixes are included.

Security and Governance

The Encyclopedia   is a two-volume set, which includes 550 topics and a reader’s guide. Topics include but are not limited to liberal market economy, regulation theory on a range of subjects, public investment, social constructivism and neoliberalism, decision-making, information governance, interpretive theory and policy analysis are covered.
  • Fagan, G. Honor and Ronaldo Munck, eds.  Globalization And Security: An Encyclopedia . Santa Barbara, Calif.: Praeger Security International, 2009. International Areas and Studies Reference [non-circulating]: 355.0330003 G5108
This Encyclopedia is a two-volume set. The first volume covers political and economic aspects of globalization and security. Topics include but are not limited to: citizenship, development, finance, food security / fisheries, the nation-state, non-governmental organizations, terrorism and trade. The second volume covers social and cultural aspects of globalization and security. Topics in this volume include but are not limited to: consumerism, crime, culture, education, gender, global civil society, health security, inequality, religion and social movements.

Sustainable Development

This Encyclopedia is a three-volume set comprised of about 800 entries that range from 500 to 5,000 words per entry. The encyclopedia’s entries discuss the developing world’s “second world” and “third world” countries from 1945 through today. Regional studies are included, about 170 organizations are covered and about 134 individuals are covered. Some topics covered include caste systems, currency regimes, foreign direct investment and guerilla warfare. Bibliographies and guides to further reading and an index are included in each volume.

Women's Studies

The Encyclopedia   is a four-volume set discussing women’s concerns and global feminism theory and practice. Only volume one includes a list of articles organized into categories included in all volumes. Categories covered include but are not limited to: arts and literature, ecology and environment, education, reproduction, history of philosophy of feminism, violence and peace and women’s studies. Entries on individuals and specific nations are included within entries on topics.