Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Global Studies: Statistics

Global Studies is a multi-disciplinary and interdisciplinary subject area that explores the concept of globalization and the interrelationships of peoples and states.

About this page

This page contains links to some useful statistical datasets.

The what and why of statistics

Statistics can help provide concrete examples of a larger trend, give the basis for an important chart or graph, or make theoretical arguments tangible.

There are two main branches of statistics:

  • Descriptive--concerns the numerical or quantitative data alone, and can help draw conclusions about a sample, rather than a population.
  • Inferential--concerns the conclusions drawn about an entire population which are infered through the results of a random sampling of a population

Be aware of bias in statistics! Numbers can be manipulated, and charts and graphs can be arranged to give a certain impression. Always double-check your facts!

Statistical Databases

  • ICPSR - The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research archives a large number of datasets. If you have problems downloading any of these, please contact ATLAS for assistance.
  • LexisNexis Statistical Universe - Find publications, tables, and datasets on a wide variety of topics.
  • Eurostats - The European Union collects a large number of statistics about its member countries.
  • Statistical Abstracts of the United States
  • SourceOECD - Click the statistics tab at the top of the page for information on both developing and developed economies.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insights - This database includes statistical datasets and statistical publications from the US Government, UN, EU, OECD, and private sector sources.
  • United Nations Statistics Division - Compiles economic, development, and environmental statistics from international sources, and provides resources on statistical and data collection methods.
  • Pew Research Center - Center is well know for the polling it does in many areas, but especially the Internet.
  • World Bank Data Catalog - The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.
  • IMF Data and Statistics - Includes data from the International Monetary Fund as well as manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices of the statistical community at large.
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, World Health Statistics
  • A great resources providing links to resources related to world health statistics, including the World Health Organization and UNICEF, and various U.S. agencies.
  • U.S. Department of State Background Notes
  • National statistics about land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations, organized by country.
  • Domestic and International Statistics Resources - a list of statistical agencies or bureaus in many countries, from Algeria to Yugoslavia, compiled by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Links to international organizations are also provided.

Ask-a-Librarian Chat Box