Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites with useful information about using technology in archives.
Digital History Hacks
Turkel, William J. Digital History Hacks: Methodology for the Infinite Archive. [Weblog.]
Dan Cohen's Blog
The Director of the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and a historian who explores—and tries to influence through theory, software, websites, and this blog—the impact of computing on the humanities.
The Programming Historian
The Programming Historian is an online, open access, peer reviewed suite of about 30 tutorials that help humanists (though slanted towards historians) learn a wide range of digital tools, techniques, and workflows to facilitate their research. Despite the name, it is not focused exclusively on programming.
"Fieldnotes: Photographing Archival Materials."
Nakamura, Karen. "Fieldnotes: Photographing Archival Materials." Blog entry for August 7, 2005.
"Historical Research in the 'Digital Era' Techniques, and the more obvious pros and cons."
Fuller, Howard J. "Historical Research in the 'Digital Era' Techniques, and the more obvious pros and cons." Journal for Maritime Research, April 2003.
"Machines in the Archives: Technology and the Coming Transformation of Archival Reference."
Cox, Richard J. and the University of Pittsburgh archives students. "Machines in the Archives: Technology and the Coming Transformation of Archival Reference." First Monday: Volume 12 Number 11 - 5 November 2007.
"Scholars Take Notes by the Megapixel, but Some Librarians Object."
Carlson, Scott. "Scholars Take Notes by the Megapixel, but Some Librarians Object." The Chronicle of Higher Education, December 17, 2004.
"Taking a Byte Out of the Archives: Making Technology Work For You."
Bateman, Birklin; Brennen, Sheila; Mudd, Douglas; and Paula Petrick. "Taking a Byte Out of the Archives: Making Technology Work For You." Perspectives, January 2005.
"Zotero: Social and Semantic Computing for Historical Scholarship."
Cohen, Daniel J. "Zotero: Social and Semantic Computing for Historical Scholarship." Perspectives, May 2007.
Discussion Board Threads
Discussion Board Threads regarding the use of digital cameras in archives.
Additional Library Guides
Books on Digital Humanities in the Scholarly Commons
Bodies of Information by
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Critical Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2019-03-16
Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
Digital Humanities and the Study of Intermediality in Comparative Cultural Studies by
Publication Date: 2013-05-15
New Digital Worlds by
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Switching Codes by
Publication Date: 2011-05-30
Teaching with Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2018-11-15