Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What If My Topic Wasn't Covered?
If your topic wasn't covered, or if your topic is outside of the Champaign-Urbana area or the state of Illinois, there are other resources that might help you in doing research about controversial issues.
- We have a collection of research guides on controversial topics-- ranging from teen pregnancy to immigration laws-- that might have a broader scope. You can find these on our library guide homepage.
- We have a statistics research guide which includes crime, education, government, health, and international statistics.
Current Issues in C-U or the Surrounding Areas
A list of places to begin research for local issues that aren't exclusive to Urbana, Champaign, or the entire state of Illinois. This includes issues that involve both Urbana and Champaign or issues that are in a different part of the state.
- CU Citizen Access
Current information about the greater Champaign-Urbana area. Topics covered include educational changes, health care changes, issues related to housing development, and new jobs in the area. Includes a detailed map of restaurants that have failed inspections since 2008.
- Savoy Website
Covers a variety of topics including ordinances, village officials, and the village's plan.
- Population by Zip Code
This guide gives directions to users on how to look up statistics by zip code in American FactFinder. This information can be helpful because it can include multiple regions or cities.
- Champaign-Urbana Public Health District Website
Health statistics for the C-U area, Champaign county, Illinois, and the greater United States. Provides data but also illustrates the data in comparison with other populations in a graph. Health topics include vital statistics, maternal and child health, infectious disease, intentional and unintentional injuries, and mental health.
- Chicago Tribune
Provides breaking news for the city of Chicago and the surrounding area. Also includes a business section on news relevant to the city. Many controversial subjects are published here.