Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Across the State
Here you can find information that covers the state of Illinois. Many of these resources let you limit your search to one region, school, or population.
- Illinois Crime
Crime reporting covering the entire state of Illinois. Includes criminal history and missing persons information. Also provides forms and codes, including Illinois' concealed carry plan and the state's Amber alert plan.
- Illinois State School Report Cards
Provides a report card for every state school in Illinois. Report cards include student enrollment, attendance, student income level, average teaching experience, school district finances, and academic performance.
- Illinois Census Information
Census information for the entire state of Illinois in 2010. Includes population statistics organized by income, language, race/ ethnicity, housing, age, and education level. Also provides statistics based on poverty levels and veteran status in Illinois.
Current Issues in Illinois
Here is a list of starting points for Illinois information and news:
- State of Illinois
Resources are organized into business, employment, education, health, and family. Each page lists more official Illinois resources for that topic, sometimes including statistics. Also see the About Illinois tab for me in-depth information and specific state information.
- Government Officials and Representatives
Provides information about current Illinois senators and Representatives. Also provides local government official information. Contact information for all Representatives is included.
- Illinois Issues Publication
A University of Illinois at Springfield publication that presents current Illinois issues. Monthly issues are archived back to 2007.
- New York Times- Illinois
New York Times headlines and articles specific to the state of Illinois.
- Chicago Sun Times
Provides information about current Illinois news and controversies. Includes political and sports news as well as lifestyle and dining trends in Illinois.
- Current Illinois Political News
This libguide uses RSS feeds to update daily. It covers a variety of news sources, including news media, government, and non-profit organizations. It includes government, court, organizational, and economical issues about Illinois.