Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Site Navigation Menu

Holocaust in Context: Literature and Film: Articles

Article Indexes for German Literature

Good starting point:
MLA International Bibliography (UIUC)

The MLA Bibliography indexes articles on the study and interpretation of literature, film and language.

Other useful databases:

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (UIUC)

A database of articles in a range of humanities subjects.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) (UIUC)

A comprehensive index to primary and secondary works on German language and literature. 

DigiZeitschriften (WWW/ UIUC)

An archive of around 200 premier German scholarly  journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Parts of the database are freely available, while others are only open to UIUC affiliates.

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur/ International Bibliography of Periodical Literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences (UIUC) DATABASES

IBZ contains more than 3.2 million journal articles from 11,500 journals from around the world in the humanities, social sciences and related fields. articles are in a variety of languages. 

KLG Online: Das Kritische Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (UIUC) Guide to KLG

Identifies biographical and bibliographical information on the lives and works of almost 650 writers of German literature after 1945.

Finding Articles

Step One: Find your database

You have a research topic and now you need a relevant database to search. To do this just turn to one of the side boxes for lists of relevant databases.  Remember - if one database isn't giving you the results you want, feel free to switch to another database.
Step Two: Finding online articles
Most recent articles are available in full-text, which means that you can view the entire article from your computer. You can email, print or save these articles for your research. For some articles, especially older ones, you will only be provided with a citation and an abstract.

 

  What if my article is not available in full-text?

 

Step Three: Finding print articles

Not everything is available in electronic format. Keep your citation (name of journal, volume, and issue) handy. Now search the Library's online catalog for the location of the print journal.There are two ways to search the online catalog.

1. Through the new VU Find Catalog.
2. Through the Classic Search.
Look to see which library holds the issue or volume that you need and jot down the location and call number. Now you need to visit a departmental library to make a photocopy. There are a number of scanners in the Library. Many are located in Room 200 and the Main Stacks.


What if the library doesn't have my print article?


Step Four: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available in full-text online and it is not available in print, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. Make sure to choose "Request a photocopy" and fill out the entire form, including the source of the citation. This process typically takes 7-10 days, so plan ahead! Interlibrary Loan will most likely deliver your article as a .pdf file to your email address.

English Databases

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Office of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Available online, the MLA International Bibliography annually indexes over 66,000 books and articles.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature [ABELL]

The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

Literature Criticism Online

The largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world, this resource brings together 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search and browse options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.

Literature Resource Center [LRC]

The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills. Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.  Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.

German Jewish Newspapers

Internetarchiv jüdischer Kulturbund (1806 - 1938) - covers over 100 Jewish periodicals in German. A highly recommended resource!