Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Newspapers Online: Current Newspapers

A guide to finding current and historical newspapers online

Major U.S. City Dailies

Here are links to some major daily newspapers available through UIUC Library databases.

News Trust

News Trust is a news aggregator that features quality news and opinions that are rated by members based on quality, not just popularity. Reviewers are vetted and rated too, before their reviews get top billing.

Current News Databases

Newsbank: Access World News
Full-text articles from major metropolitan newspapers, international papers, and smalltown U.S. papers. This service includes both contemporary and historical databases. Access full-text articles from The News-Gazette (6/1/1997 to present) and Chicago Tribune (1985 to present). On the left side of the screen, you'll see a shortcut to Illinois newspapers, which you'll find listed alphabetically by title. Click on America's Historic Newspapers (1690-1876), which features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images.

LexisNexis
Full-text access to hundreds of recent (and even not-so-recent) newspaper and magazine articles. Type in your search terms in the center search box, using and to narrow and or to broaden; put quotation marks around unique phrases. The default search is set to Major U.S. and World Publications for the Previous 2 years, which can be changed to suit your needs. After you click search, notice that you can narrow your search by clicking on the categories in the left toolbar. Click on the plus sign to expand your options and click on the blue link to narrow your search.

Library PressDisplay
Today's papers from around the world in their original full-page layout and design (advertisements and images intact). Over 250 titles from over 50 countries available online.