Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a good list of image resources in Sarah Acheson’s “Image Collections for Costume Research”, in Performing Arts Resources 27 (2010), p. 247-254.
You may also want to look at:
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Costume Historical Image Collections - a project of the Institute of Museum and Library Services' Digital Collections and Content
Includes Digital Dress: Historic Costume Collection, Dorothea June Grossbart Historic Costume Collection, Meadow Brook Hall Historic Costume Collection, and Henry Ford Historic Costume Collection.
A leading creator and distributor of still imagery, footage, music and other premium content.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
A rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States.
Portaits of Actors 1720-1920
Portraits of Actors, 1720-1920, includes almost 3500 pictures of actors-studio portraits and actors posing in costume for a particular role or performing a scene from a play.
Theatre Productions and Players, 1920s-1957: Vandamm Studio Photographs
The nearly 2,500 items in this digital presentation based in the New York Public Library are a sampling of an archive of more than 75,000 images of theatrical personalities and productions.
Production Art Database
Original artwork collected in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences library.
What We Wore | A history of fashion from 1720 to 1982 (BBC Video series)
"This unusual collection of programmes reveals what it took to be stylish through over 250 years of British history as it explores fashion from 1720 to 1982."
Costume Collection at the Museum of the Fashion Institute of America
The Museum’s permanent collection now encompasses some 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present.
The Costumer's Manifesto
A wiki that offers extensive historical, geographical breakdown of costume history as well as accessories, uniforms, costume shops, dyeing, etc.
This open access database contains scans of all issues published between November 1867 – December 1900, with very few gaps.
Textiles and Costumes at the Henry Art Gallery
The Henry Art Gallery’s Costume and Textile Collection provides a resource for studying the construction and design of fiber-based objects, their relationship to other art forms, and their historical and cultural role in the societies that produced them.
Costume at the Victoria and Albert Museum London
Among the Theatre and Performance collections there are over 3,500 stage costumes and accessories - ranging from complete outfits to individual headdresses. All are a tribute to the creativity and skills of designers and costume makers from the mid 18th century to today, in every kind of live performance - drama, opera, dance, musicals, pantomime, rock and pop, music hall, cabaret, circus.
Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Texts and images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Please note that access to some material in this collection is restricted to computers within The Metropolitan Museum of Art.