Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 379: Latina/os and the City

A course guide.

1. America: History and Life

is the best starting place to search for scholarly articles on Chicago history. This database provides indexing and abstracting for articles, book reviews, and dissertations published since 1910, and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. 

Use the Subject Browser to select your subject term(s) by clicking on the open book icon to the right of the search box. You can narrow your search by adding a keyword or using more than one subject term. For example, select "Discrimination" as a subject term using the Subject Browser, then narrow your search with the keyword "Chicago". Your search results display as short records, which you can expand by clicking on "Expand Record" at the bottom of the record on the right. The full entry shows you an abstract or summary of the article. If a particular article is linked to full text, the link is highlighted.

This database differs from a full text collection like JSTOR in the scope and depth of coverage. JSTOR has about 300 history journals, while America: History and Life provides access to over 1,700. In other words: if you only search JSTOR, you will be missing much of the published scholarship.

2. Other Article Databses

3. Full Text Collections

There are several major collections of full-text electronic journals. In these databases you can browse individual issues of journals, or you can do a search across the entire database.
  • Agricultural History
  • Hispanic American Historical Review
  • American Journal of Legal History
  • Journal of American History
  • Journal of Social History
  • The Economic History Review
  • American Studies
  • Economic Geography
  • Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society
  • Journal of Interdisciplinary History
  • History and Memory
  • Journal of Social History
  • Radical History Review
  • Journal of Women's History
  • Oral History Review
  • American Quarterly
  • Journal of Sport History
To get to Project Muse, go to the "Quick Links" on the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library web site, or go to Online Resources from the Library Gateway and type "Project Muse" in the search box.