LibGuides: History 200E: Women and Gender in East Asia: VI. Other Source Collections

1. Digital Collections

You can a wealth of source material on the Internet, usually in digital collections from libraries, archives, museums, and government organizations. The trick is how to find them. Google is an option, but you might also consider trying directories and catalogs that specialize in scholarly resources. We recommend the following:

Internet guide for China studies: the China WWW virtual library

Listed below are some specific collections we think you might find useful.

GlobaLex
Maintained by the Hauser Global Law School Program at New York University School of Law. Includes a list of guides to finding laws and legal resources for specific countries.
Laws of the People's Republic of China
From the Asian Legal Information Institute. With coverage back to 1949.
Family Court of Hong Kong Judgments
Contains judgments of the Family Court of Hong Kong Judgments from 1973 to 2002. Laws, ordinances, and some government reports are also included.
The Bunraku Collection
Documents the post-World War II revival of interest in bunraku. More that 12,500 slides and nearly 7,000 black-and-white photographs, as well as theater programs, texts, and audio and video recordings of interviews. Most of the collection has yet to be digitized.

Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Roughly 4,500 monographs and pamphlets, and more than 400 periodicals documenting women's history around the world.

Books have both Library of Congress Subject Headings, and Gerritsen Subject Terms. Somewhat more than half of the material in the collection is in English, and the remainder is in German, French, and other European languages.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, periodicals documenting the economic history of the West, very broadly defined, including political writings, works on international relations, international trade and commerce, and slavery, travel narratives, legal cases, and government publications. Based on the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World includes more than 60,000 books and 450 journals.
AccessUN This link opens in a new window
1945-2009. Index to United Nations documents, including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents.

American Occupation of Japan, Voices of the Key Participants
Oral histories.

China Law Center (Yale Law School)
Maintains document collections (in Chinese and English) and bibliographies on Open Government Information and Public Participation.
China Legal Access (CLASS)
Access to Chinese legal research. 238,842 records, including 13,230 in English. Covers commercial, civil, and administrative laws.
Law Info China
From the Legal Information Center at Beijing University.

Tibet - From the Collections of the American Geographical Society Library
Historical maps and images of Tibet from the holdings of the American Geographical Society Library.
Robert Henry Chandless Photographs
Images from China, 1898-1908, including images of the Boxer Rebellion.
more...less...
From the University of Washington Library.
Gordon W. Prange Collection
Collection of print publications (newspapers, magazines, books, and pamphlets) issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949. Includes guides to collections that haven't yet been digitized, and a section of English-language sources.
more...less...
From the University of Maryland Library.
Chikanobu and Yoshitoshi Woodblock Prints
Examples of late 17th century to early 20th century Japanese woodblock prints by the artists Chikanobu (1838-1912) and Yoshitoshi (1839-1892).
more...less...
From the Claremont Colleges Libraries.
Chinese Pamphlets: Political Communication and Mass Education in the Early Period of the People's Republic of China
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954.
more...less...
From the Center for Research Libraries.
Hedda Morrison Photographs of China
Over 5,000 photographs taken by Hedda Hammer Morrison (1908–1991) while resident in Beijing from 1933 to 1946.
more...less...
From Harvard College Library.
Peter Parker's Lam Qua Paintings Collection
Collection of portraits of patients at the Canton Hospital, China, ca. 1830s.
more...less...
From the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library at Yale University.
East Asia Image Collection
Multiple sub-collections, including Japanese Empire Postcard Collection, Truku-Japanese War Commemorative Postcard Collection, Japanese Imperial House Postcard Album, Stereoviews of the Siege of Port Arthur, Imperial Postcards, Tsubokura Russo-Japanese War Postcard Album, Sino-Japanese War Postcard Album, Lin Chia-Feng Family Postcards, Japanese History Study Cards, Pacific War Postcards, Dutch East Indies Negatives, Manchuria Negatives, Taiwan Negatives, Japan Slides, Souvenirs of Beijing and Tokyo, and more.
more...less...
From the Skillman Library at Lafayette College.
Digital Silk Road
Rare source collections for the study of Asian history, with English-language interface.
Japanese Historical Text Initiative
Important Japanese historical documents with English-language translations.
David Plath Japanese Fieldwork Collection
Photographs, illustrations, and field notes from anthropologist David Plath's 1965 research trip to Japan, where he studied four utopian communities: Ittoen, Atarashiki Mura, Shinkyo, and Yamagishi Kai.
more...less...
From the University of Iowa Library.