1. Encyclopedias
- Encyclopaedia of Judaism byCall Number: 296.03 En19122005ISBN: 900414787XPublication Date: 20054 vols. Highly regarded for its coverage of religion and ethics, and history of Judaism as a religion.
"Examines Judaism through both a classic and a contemporary lens, and in so doing does not shy away from controversy or opinion [...] Controversy aside, under the direction of the distinguished editors, this work is a compilation of highly academic, densely researched essays written by renowned scholars and theologians; it is designed for a similar audience" (from the Choice review by K. Proffitt). - The Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History byCall Number: 623.8 ONLINEISBN: 0195130758Publication Date: 2007Online version of the 4 volume original.
- The Palgrave dictionary of Anglo-Jewish history byCall Number: 941.004924 P175ISBN: 1403939101Publication Date: 2011
- Encyclopaedia Judaica byCall Number: 296 ONLINEPublication Date: 20062nd ed. Online version of the 22 volume original. Signed entries, with bibliographies, on almost all aspects of Jewish Studies. Bibliographies not annotated. "This award-winning second edition, an update to the 1972 Encyclopaedia Judaica, has already attained a secure place in the reference pantheon [...] While the first edition, published in Jerusalem, was criticized by a few scholars for an "Israel-centric" scholarly bias, the second edition was overseen by a joint editorial board composed of both Israeli and Diaspora scholars, who tried to provide more balanced coverage" (from the Choice review by D. Altschiller). However, the Academic Guide to Jewish History at the University of Toronto notes that the first 1972 edition contains more illustrations and may contain information not present in the updated edition.
- Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora byCall Number: 909.04924 En197ISBN: 1851098739Publication Date: 2008This three-volume work is a cornerstone resource on the evolution and dynamics of the Jewish Diaspora as it played out around the world—from its beginnings to the present. * Over 400 entries and essays in three volumes, arranged by theme, country, and region * Over 120 contributors, including the world's foremost Diaspora scholars, under the direction of an exceptionally distinguished editorial board * Maps developed in consultation with Sir Martin Gilbert, a leading expert in Jewish studies cartography * Both historic and contemporary images, depicting the people and places of the Diaspora around the world * A thorough bibliography pointing the way to the finest print and online resources for further reading
2. Bibliographies, Catalogs, and Guides
- Jewish Diaspora byPublication Date: 2010A bibliography and bibliographic essay from the Oxford Bibliographies Online collection "Atlantic History". Includes a section on primary sources.
- Dictionary catalog of the Jewish collection byCall Number: Q. 016.296 N42DPublication Date: 196014 vols. with 8 vol. supplement (1975).
- Resources for Latin American Jewish studies byCall Number: 016.980004924 R312ISBN: 091692100XPublication Date: 1984
- Index of articles relative to Jewish history and literature published in periodicals, from 1665 to 1900 byCall Number: 016.91003924 Sch91r1971ISBN: 087068163XPublication Date: 1972
- Spanish and Portuguese Jews in the Caribbean and the Guianas : a bibliography byCall Number: 016.3058924 Ar16sISBN: 0916617521Publication Date: 1999
- "Select Bibliography on the Sephardic Jews of the Diaspora in the Americas", pp. 129-212 in Survival and adaptation : the Portuguese Jewish diaspora in Europe, Africa, and the New World byISBN: 0872031643Publication Date: 2002Request through Inter-Library Loan.
- The whole Sephardic catalog : a guide to resources and references for educators and lay readers byPublication Date: 1992Request through Inter-Library Loan.
- International Bibliography of Jewish History and Thought byCall Number: 016.90904924 IN82ISBN: 3598075030Publication Date: 1984With a chapter on Jewish communities of the Diaspora.
- Les juifs d’afrique du nord : bibliographie byCall Number: 016.96004924 AT81JPublication Date: 1973
- Printed Jewish Canadiana, 1685-1900; tentative check list of books, pamphlets, pictures, magazine and newspaper articles and currency, written by or relating to the Jews of Canada byCall Number: ILLPublication Date: 1955Request through ILL.
- Les juifs du Québec : bibliographie rétrospective annotée byCall Number: 016.9714 R664JISBN: 2892240042Publication Date: 1981Coverage back to 1759.
- American Jewish History: A Bibliographical Guide byCall Number: 016.973004924 G966AISBN: 088464037XPublication Date: 1983Coverage back to the colonial period.
- Black-Jewish relations in the United States, 1752-1984 : a selected bibliography byCall Number: 016.9730496 D294BISBN: 0313233292Publication Date: 1984
- An American Jewish bibliography, being a list of books and pamphlets by Jews, or relating to them, printed in the United States from the establishment of the press in the colonies until 1850 byCall Number: 016.296 R72APublication Date: 1926With a Supplement.
- Judaica Americana : a bibliography of publications to 1900 byCall Number: I-ShareISBN: 0313250235Publication Date: 19902 vols. Covers 1640-1900. Request through I-Share.
- Franco-Judaica; an analytical bibliography of books, pamphlets, decrees, briefs and other printed documents pertaining to the Jews in France, 1500-1788 byCall Number: I-SharePublication Date: 1962Request through I-Share.
- Bibliographie zur Geschichte der Judenfrage byCall Number: I-Share.Covers 1750 to 1848. Reprint of the 1938 edition originally commissioned by the Nazi government. Request through I-Share.
- Bibliographie zur Geschichte der Juden in Bayern byCall Number: 016.943004924 W637BISBN: 359810832XPublication Date: 1989
- Anglo-Jewish bibliography, 1937-1970 byCall Number: 016.94100492 L528AISBN: 0902528068Publication Date: 1973Coverage back to the Medieval period. See also its supplement, Anglo-Jewish bibliography 1971-1990 (request through I-Share).
- Bibliographie zur Geschichte der Juden in Hessen byCall Number: 016.94341 EI83BISBN: 3921434149Publication Date: 1992
- Bibliotheca anglo-judaica A bibliographical guide to Anglo-Jewish history byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1888Supplemented by Magna bibliotheca anglo-judaica; a bibliographical guide to Anglo-Jewish history and then Nova bibliotheca anglo-judaica; a bibliographical guide to Anglo-Jewish history, 1937-1960 (both of which must be requested through I-Share).
- Bibliotheca historica italo-judaica byCall Number: 015.45 C768Publication Date: 1954Supplemented by Supplemento 1954-1963 (request through ILL), Bibliotheca italo-ebraica : bibliografia per la storia degli ebrei in Italia, 1964-1973, Biblioteca italo-ebraica : bibliografia per la storia degli Ebrei in Italia, 1974-1985 (request through ILL), and Biblioteca italo-ebraica : bibliografia per la storia degli ebrei in Italia, 1986-1995 (request through ILL), and Biblioteca italo-ebraica : bibliografia per la storia degli Ebrei in Italia, 1996-2005 (request through ILL).
- The Jews in Spain and Portugal : a bibliography byCall Number: 016.946004924 SI64JISBN: 0824010892Publication Date: 1975Continued by Spanish and Portuguese Jewry : a classified bibliography.
- American Jewish Liturgies: A Bibliography of American Jewish Liturgy from the Establishment of the Press in the Colonies Through 1925 byCall Number: 016.29645 W113aISBN: 0878209123Publication Date: 1997"To say, albeit with complete accuracy, that this volume will greatly facilitate the study of both liturgy and of Jewry in the United States is to understate its contribution as well as its delight, for what is found within will also serve to broaden popular understanding of liturgy [...] a listing of all the liturgical materials published in the United States" (from the AJS Review review by Debra Reed Blank).
- Judaica Americana: An Annotated Bibliography of Publications from 1960 to 1990 byCall Number: 016.970004 K131JISBN: 0926019759Publication Date: 19952 volumes. A bibliography of works relating to American Jewish culture compiled by Judaica Americana.
- Latin American Jewish Studies: An Annotated Guide to the Literature byCall Number: 016.980004924 EL52LISBN: 0313259364Publication Date: 1990A bibliography and guide that lists and describes the major works of academic research about Latin American Jews.
- Latin American Jewry: A Research Guide byCall Number: 016.980004924 SA1302LISBN: 0878209042Publication Date: 1978An English language bibliography and research guide covering the history and culture of Latin American Jews.
- The Jewish Community in America: An Annotated and Classified Bibliographical Guide byCall Number: 016.97304924 J556ISBN: 0891020578Publication Date: 1977Coverage back to the colonial period.
- The Jewish World in Modern Times: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography byCall Number: 016.90904924 ED27JISBN: 0813305721Publication Date: 1988Annotated bibliography of mostly secondary sources. Covers communities of the Jewish Diaspora by region and country.
3. Biographies
- Jewish writers of Latin America : a dictionary byCall Number: 869.00922 J556ISBN: 0815314957Publication Date: 1997
- Dicionário biográfico byCall Number: 920.0092924 W832DPublication Date: 1986-7 vols. Biographical dictionary of Brazilian Jews.
- Handbuch österreichischer Autorinnen und Autoren jüdischer Herkunft 18. bis 20. Jahrhundert byCall Number: 830.9 H1918ISBN: 3598115458Publication Date: 2002
- A Biographical Dictionary of Early American Jews: Colonial Times through 1800 byCall Number: 922.96 ONLINEPublication Date: 1960"Entries in this Dictionary, though normally brief, include a reference to the sources of the author's information; where it seemed doubtful to him that an individual was Jewish, a statement to this effect is included" (from the Mississippi Valley Historical Review review). See also the Hispanic American Historical Review review (p.585).
- Jüdisches biographisches Archiv = Jewish Biographical ArchiveBiographical entries from 273 reference works originally published between 1781 and 2001. Part of World Biographical Information System.
3. Atlases, Chronologies, Gazetteers
Historical Atlas of Judiasm by Call Number: Q. 909.04924 B261hISBN: 0785824847Publication Date: 2009-04-28
The Illustrated Atlas of Jewish Civilization by Call Number: Q. 909.04924 G374IISBN: 0025434152Publication Date: 1990-12-01- A Historical Atlas of the Jewish People: From the Time of the Patriarchs to the Present byCall Number: Q. 909.04924 J937:EISBN: 0805242260Publication Date: 2002"A cooperative opus of 48 authors, each dealing with the subject of their specialization [...] As we progress from as far back as the era of Ur to our times, we encounter each chapter in a consistent pattern: text, map, chronology, illustration. The book, while heavy in content, is easy on the reader" (from the International Social Sciences Review review by Vera Laska).
- Atlas of Jewish History byCall Number: 909.04924 C663AISBN: 0415086841Publication Date: 1994"Serious students of Jewish history will find very little new information here, though the general reader may profit from the elementary comments in the text, and students interested in the historical migrations of the Jewish people may find the maps useful" (from the Choice review by S. D. Benin). See also the review from Journal of Semitic Studies.
- Atlas of Modern Jewish History byCall Number: Q. 305.89240223 F916A:EISBN: 0195053931Publication Date: 1990"This comprehensive and well-organized work pays considerable attention to Jewish settlements and trends in Europe in the 18th and 19th centuries and follows the waves of Jewish emigration and settlement to Palestine and to the US in the early part of the 20th century" (from the Choice review by T. Koppel).
- Atlas of the Jewish World byCall Number: Q. 909.04924 D34AISBN: 0871960435Publication Date: 1984"Although this volume is first and foremost an atlas, the text is more than a mere commentary. It is a clear, comprehensive and attractively presented account of who the Jews are, how they have come to be what they are, and where they are today, so that with the 59 maps and a wealth of illustrations, 183 in colour and 255 in black and white, this survey of the history and culture of the Jewish people is an excellent introduction" (from the Geographical Journal review by Norman Pye).
- The Jews in America, 1621-1977: A Chronology and Fact Book byCall Number: 325.25693 SL5J 1978ISBN: 0379005301Publication Date: 1978A timeline that traces Jewish history in America from the arrival of the first Jewish immigrant to the colonies, and continues until the late 1970s.
- The Routledge Atlas of Jewish History (8th ed.) byCall Number: 911.174924 G372r 2010ISBN: 0415281504Publication Date: 2010"Tracing the world-wide migrations of the Jews from ancient Mesopotamia to modern Israel, this updated edition spans over 4,000 years of history in 140 maps" (from the Shofar review).
