Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The New Undergraduate Student's Guide to the Biology Virtual Library: Resources

This guide introduces the Biology Virtual Library and describes services and resources of interest to the new undergraduate student in the biological sciences.

Ask a Librarian

Resources

  • Our Collection. Our primary mission is to support the curricular and research needs of the School of Integrative Biology (IB) and School of Molecular & Cellular Biology (MCB). Our holdings cover all basic biological sciences. The Biology Library's collection includes over 137,000 volumes, with subscriptions to both print and electronic journals. The print collection is housed in several libraries on campus; please see Which Libraries Have Biology Books and Journals? for details.
  • Citation Management Programs:
  • Course Reserves. Course reserves database is searchable here: Reserves. The reserves may be at different library locations, primarily IB and MCB reserves are at the Funk ACES library.
  • Article and Other Databases. Online access to a large collection of bibliographic databases is available to University patrons. PubMed, Web of Science, and Scopus are linked directly from the Biology Library homepage. Access to these and many others subscribed to by UIUC Library by going to the Online Journals, Newspapers, and Databases (SFX) tool. Electronic journals (E-journals) subscribed to by the Library have links from a number of databases, including PubMed, Scopus and Web of Science via DISCOVER buttons. If you would like more help learning to use these resources, or if you would like help in choosing appropriate databases, contact the Biology Librarian from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Mon. - Fri., or call (217) 244-2503 to make an appointment.
  • Electronic Journals. The Illinois Library has full-text access to many journals online. They can be accessed via the Online Library Catalog as well as the Online Journals, Newspapers, and Databases (SFX) tool.

Subject Guide

Biology Librarian's picture
Biology Librarian
Contact:
Biosciences Librarian: Kelli Trei, Liaison to the Schools of Life Sciences in LAS: Molecular & Cellular Biology, Integrative Biology, and the Carl R. Woese Institute of Genomic Biology

Funk ACES Library, 1101 S. Goodwin Ave., M/C 633
Urbana, IL 61801
2172442503
Website
Subjects:Biology