Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Our Collection. Our primary mission is to support the curricular and research needs of the School of Integrative Biology (IB) and School of Molecular & Cellular Biology (MCB). Our holdings cover all basic biological sciences. The Biology Library's collection includes over 137,000 volumes, with subscriptions to both print and electronic journals. The print collection is housed in several libraries on campus; please see Which Libraries Have Biology Books and Journals? for details.
- Citation Management Programs:
- Course Reserves. Course reserves may be placed in any library. Please contact the Biology Librarian to facilitate your choice.
- Article and Other Databases. Online access to a large collection of bibliographic databases is available to University patrons. PubMed, Web of Science, and Scopus are linked directly from the Biology Library homepage. Other available online indexes include, CAB Abstracts, Chemical Abstracts, the Zoological Record, and databases, such as GenBank, Entrez, ENZYME, and EMBL via PubMed (MEDLINE). Access to these and many others subscribed to by Illinois Library by going to the Online Journals, Newspapers, and Databases (SFX) tool. Electronic journals (E-journals) subscribed to by the Library have links from a number of databases, including PubMed, Scopus and the Web of Science via DISCOVER buttons. If you would like some help learning to use these resources, or if you would like help in choosing appropriate databases, contact the Biology Librarian from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Mon. - Fri., or call (217) 244-2503 to make an appointment.
- Electronic Journals. In addition to print subscriptions at the Biology Library, the UIUC Library has full-text access to many journals online. They can be accessed via the Online Library Catalog as well as the Online Journals, Newspapers, and Databases (SFX) tool.