Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Relevant U of I Libraries
- Trismegistos - Bibliographic information on published ancient documents focusing on the history of Egypt between approximately 800 BC and 800 AD. Includes the Leuven Database of Ancient Books, among other resources.
- Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets - “A ready bibliography of all monographic volumes, both current and out-of-print, of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic documentary texts on papyrus, parchment, ostraca or wood tablets.”
- Zeitschrift für Papyrologie und Epigraphik - Includes PDFs of back issues, and indexes to the entire run.
Epigraphy, Inscriptions, and Paleography
The Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies at The Ohio State University
The only comprehensive research facility for the study of Greek and Latin inscriptions and manuscripts in the United States.
Center for the Study of Ancient Documents
Home of Oxford University's epigraphical archive, with links to high quality epigraphy sites.
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)
Digitized public domain volumes of this comprehensive collection of ancient Latin inscriptions from all corners of the Roman Empire..
Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg
A database of Latin inscriptions (search field headings in English).
Paléographie des Classiques Latins
A collection of facsimiles of manuscripts originally published by Librairie Hachette et cie, 1884-1900.
This site brings together a number of resources that are available for the study of epigraphic texts.
Squeeze Imaging Project (Freer-Sackler Archives)
The Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives hold a significant collection of 393 squeezes from ancient archaeological sites in the Near East.
Photographic Archive of Papyri in the Cairo Museum
"In the 1970s and 1980s an International Photographic Mission initiated and sponsored by the Association Internationale de Papyrologues and UNESCO made slides and photographs of the several thousand published Greek papyri held in the Cairo Museum. The International Photographic Archive of Papyri (IPAP) consists of about 6000 slides and large format negatives, in equal proportions, held at Oxford, Brussels, Cologne, Heidelberg and Copenhagen.As part of its Script, Image and the Culture of Writing in the Ancient World programme funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation the Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents has undertaken a programme of cataloguing and digitising the photographs in the Archive with a view to making them more readily available to the scholarly community.Digitised images of the majority of the photographs in Archive are now available from this site, organised according to published collections. The digitised images are drawn partly from the 4x5 inch and 6x9 cm black and white negatives taken by Adam Bülow-Jacobsen, partly from the 35mm colour slides and black and white negatives held in the Papyrology Room in Oxford. We are particularly grateful to Dr. Bülow-Jacobsen for making available the beautiful large format photographs which he took for the IPAP mission."--from homepage
Papyri.info aggregates material from the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS), Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (DDbDP), Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis der griechischen Papyrusurkunden Ägyptens (HGV), Bibliographie Papyrologique (BP), and depends on close collaboration with Trismegistos, for rigorous maintenance of relationship mapping and unique identifiers.