Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Gothic Literature Guide: Finding Books and E-Texts

A research guide for Gothic literature.

Finding E-Texts

Many of these titles are available as e-books through sites such as HathiTrust, Google Books and Project Gutenberg.

You may also search for online articles using Online Journals and Databases.

Our Mobile-Friendly Resources guide may also be of interest.

Finding Articles

Step One: Finding your database

You have a research topic and now you need a relevant database to search. To do this just turn to one of the side boxes for lists of relevant databases.  Remember - if one database isn't giving you the results you want, feel free to switch to another database.

Step Two: Finding online articles

There are three ways to find online articles:

  1. Directly through a database, which will provide a link to online articles through the Library's Discover Full Text (Note: it's in a blue box).
  2. Through the Library's Journal and Article Locator
  3. You can also search for journals (but not articles) via the Primo Library Catalog's Journal Search.
What if my article is not available online in full-text?

Step Three: Finding print articles

Not everything is available in electronic format. During the Covid-19 pandemic the Library will be providing scans of print articles in its collections. You can request scans via Document Delivery.

 

What if the library doesn't have an article?

Step Four: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available in full-text online and it is not available in print, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. Make sure to choose "Request a photocopy" and fill out the entire form, including the source of the citation. This process typically takes 7-10 days, so plan ahead! Interlibrary Loan will most likely deliver your article as a .pdf file to your email address.

Finding Books

Step One: UIUC Online Library Catalog

There are two ways to search the UIUC Library catalog. Both offer the same content but the method of searching and presentation of results varies.

  1. Through the new Primo Library Catalog. This catalog requires you to register with a login and a password to request materials. It also lets you search books in I-share (see below for more details.)
  2. Through the Library Easy Search. This interface lets you search the UIUC catalog for books, articles, journals and media. . 

Getting the actual book: When you locate your item you have two choices.

Print books

You can request the item and pick it up at any of the departmental libraries. Or, you can retrieve the book yourself from either the main stacks or the departmental library where the book is located. If you choose this option, make sure you jot down the location and call number of the item.

Electronic Books

Access will depend on the publisher. In some case you will be able to download full books via PDF. In others you might be able only to view the book online. In all cases the Library follow the publisher's requirements.

What if my book is not in the UIUC Online Library Catalog?

Step Two: I-Share

Once you have verified that the book you are looking for is either not located in the UIUC catalog or all copies are checked out, you may order it through Primo Library Catalog and selecting "All I-share Libraries." Items typically arrive within 5-10 days and you will receive an email when the item is available for pick up.

What if my book is not available in I-Share?

Step Three: Interlibrary Loan

If the item is not available in the UIUC catalog or through I-Share, then your next stop will be Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. First, keep your full citation handy -- you'll need it. Second, login to the ILLiad server using your NetID and password. From the ILLiad main menu, select "Request a Book." Be sure to fill out as much of the form as possible, including the source of your citation. This will ensure that ILL can place your request in a timely manner. You'll be notified by email when your item is ready to be picked up.

WorldCat -You can search WorldCat to find books on your topic, which might not be in the UIUC nor the I-share catalog. Once you find a title of interest, you can order it through Interlibrary Loan

Search Terms

The following subject headings are of use in finding Gothic-related articles in these databases.

Library of Congress Subject Headings:

  • Gothic fiction (Literary genre)
  • Writing, Gothic
  • Gothic literature
  • Gothic revival (Literature)--English-speaking countries
  • Gothic fiction (Literary genre), American

MLA International Bibliography:

  • Gothic novel
  • The uncanny
  • Gothic conventions
  • Gothic fiction
  • Gothicism
  • Gothic literature
  • Gothic Revival architecture
  • (American/English) Gothic (fiction/novel)

ABELL:

  • Gothic
  • Gothic architecture
  • Gothic Drama
  • Gothic Fiction
  • Gothic Horror Fiction
  • Gothic Literature
  • Gothic novel
  • Gothic Revival
  • Gothic Studies