LibGuides: Intellectual Property: Trademarks

Trademarks Quick Links

United States Patent and Trademark Office: Trademarks Home
The USPTO's website for trademark resources.
U.S. Trademark Law: Rules of Practice & Federal Statutes [PDF]
Rules and Statutes applicable to trademark issues, from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. [PDF]
State Trademark Information
Links to trademark information from each state, from the USPTO.

Library Trademark Resources

Trademark law and Theory : a Handbook of Contemporary Research by Graeme B. Dinwoodie and Mark D. Janis
Call Number: K1555.T75 2008

The Law Library has several print resources on trademark law topics. Try the catalog for further resources.

Trade Mark Registrations in Bad Faith by Alexander Tsoutsanis
Call Number: K1555.T76 2010

Trademark News and Blogs

The Trademark Blog
Posts cover trademark and copyright cases in the news or otherwise discovered by the blogger and often include images or video to illustrate perceived intellectual property violations.
ABA Journal: Trademark Law
Trademark law news from the ABA.
Patent, Trademark and Copyright Law Daily
News of the most important intellectual property cases, regulatory developments, and trends, on a daily basis. UIUC access only.

Trademark Treatises and Secondary Sources

Gilson on Trademarks
Currently updated treatise on all aspects of trademark law, call number KF3180.G541. Also available on Lexis (law access only).
McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition
6 volumes, regularly updated, call number KF3180.M292. Also available on Westlaw (law access only).
Trademarks Throughout the World
3 volume treatise, currently updated, call number K1555.4.T73. Also available on Westlaw (law access only).
The Law of Unfair Competition, Trademarks, and Monopolies
Multiple volumes, updated regularly, call number KF1609 .C33. Also available on Westlaw (law access only).
Essentials of Trademarks and Unfair Competition
Contains tips, techniques, illustrative real-world examples, exhibits, and best practices for thinking, strategies, developments, and technologies in trademarks and unfair
competition. UIUC access only.
The Trademark Reporter
International Trademark Association's bimonthly legal journal that contains articles by authors who wish to contribute to the scholarly discussion and exploration of all aspects of trademark law. UIUC access only.

Trademark Statutes, Regulations and Treaties

United States Code
Trademarks are covered by Title 15, Chapter 22 (aka the Lanham Act). Annotations available in print at call number KF62.W4 and on Westlaw and Lexis (law access only).
Code of Federal Regulations
Trademarks are covered under Title 37: Patents, Trademarks and Copyrights. Print version available at call number KF70.A2.
Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS)
An international agreement governed by the WTO that sets standards for IP regulation in WTO member countries. The WTO website contains the text of the treaty and supplemental materials.
Other Intellectual Property Treaties [Westlaw]
A Westlaw database that contains several IP-related treaties, agreements, and other materials. Law access only.

Trademark Case Reporters

Trademark cases that reach the appellate level are reported in the standard federal and state reporters. There are also several reporters that specialize in trademark and IP cases:

Trademarks: Mealey's Litigation Reports [Lexis]
Specialized, in-depth coverage of trademark litigation, including infringement, the Lanham Act, internet issues, trade dress, trade secrets, unfair competition, insurance coverage, and more. Available on Lexis (law access only).
Federal and State Trademark Cases [Lexis]
Trademark cases from U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Court of Appeals, Federal District Courts and State Caselaw for all 50 States plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and other U.S. territories. Also included are specialty courts such as Military Appeals, Customs, Patents, Tax, Trade, Commerce, Veteran Appeals and Bankruptcy. Available on Lexis (law access only).
Federal Intellectual Property Trademark Cases [Westlaw]
A Westlaw database that contains cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, Court of Federal Claims, U.S. Tax Courts, and related federal and territorial courts that address trademark rights. Coverage begins with 1800. Law access only.

The Law Library

Law Library

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Desk : (217) 244-0614; Circulation Desk: (217) 333-2915

Subjects: Law

Contact Information

504 East Pennsylvania Avenue
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 244-0614 (reference)

View Larger Map

Library Hours:

Fall 2013
August 25 —December 20, 2013:

Monday – Thursiday: 8:00 am – midnight

Friday: 8:00 am – 9:00 pm

Saturday: 10:00 am – 9:00 pm

Sunday: 10:00 am – midnight

Labor Day Weekend:

Saturday, August 31: 10:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 1: 10:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Monday, September 2: 10:00 a.m. – midnight

Fall 2013 Reference Hours:

Monday – Friday:
9:00 am – 7:00 pm

Saturday:
No Reference

Sunday:
1:00 pm – 5:00 pm

No Reference Service on September 1 & 2

Disclaimer

The University of Illinois Law Library provides these Web pages as a service to our users and they are not intended to be taken as legal or non-legal advice on any subject. The legal information provided in this website is for general reference only, and should not be relied upon for legal purposes. You should always consult a lawyer to determine your legal rights.