1. Online
- Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online This link opens in a new windowRoughly 4,500 monographs and pamphlets, and more than 400 periodicals documenting women's history around the world.
Books have both Library of Congress Subject Headings, and Gerritsen Subject Terms. Somewhat more than half of the material in the collection is in English, and the remainder is in German, French, and other European languages. - Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, periodicals documenting the economic history of the West, very broadly defined, including political writings, works on international relations, international trade and commerce, and slavery, travel narratives, legal cases, and government publications. Based on the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World includes more than 60,000 books and 450 journals.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.
- Maps of Africa to 1900Based on the Bassett and Scheven bibliography, Maps of Africa to 1900: A Checklist of Maps in Atlases and Geographical Journals in the Collections of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Over 2,400 maps.
- Africa Research CentralCatalog of primary source collections online. Browse by country.
2. Document Collections
- Africa: Special Studies, 1962-1980 byCall Number: FILM 960 AF8322ISBN: 0890933820Publication Date: 19817 reels + guide. Reports by a variety of governmental and non-governmental organizations.
- Africa Contemporary Record: Annual Survey and DocumentsCall Number: 916 AF836ISBN: 0065-3845Publication Date: 1968-2002
- Africa, 1941-1961 byCall Number: FILM 960.32 AF831Publication Date: 198011 microfilm reels. Also available online in ProQuest History Vault (O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research report).
- CIA Research Reports: Africa, 1946-1976 byCall Number: FILM 960.3 C48ISBN: 0890934231Publication Date: 19833 reels + guide
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: British Africa, 1955-1959: Internal Affairs, Decimal Numbers 745, 745B-X, 845, 845B-X, 945, and 945B-X, and Foreign Affairs, Decimal Numbers 645, 645B-X, 611.45, and 611.45B-X byCall Number: FILM 960 C761ISBN: 1556554079Publication Date: 199139 reels + guide
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Congo, 1960-January 1963: Internal Affairs, Decimal Numbers 755A, 770G, 855A, 870G, 955A, and 970G, and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 655A, 670G, 611.55A, and 611.670G byCall Number: FILM 967.5103 C761ISBN: 1556558090Publication Date: 200040 reels + guide
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Ghana 1960-January 1963: Internal Affairs and Foreign AffairsCall Number: FILM 320.966709046 C76 HPNLISBN: 155655910012 reels. Accompanied by a printed guide compiled by Daniel Lewis, entitled: A guide to the microfilm edition of Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Ghana 1960-January 1963
- Emerging Nationalism in Portuguese Africa: Documents byCall Number: 325.3469 C43EISBN: 0817919716Publication Date: 1972
- Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the John F. Kennedy National Security Files. Africa national security files, 1961-1963Call Number: FILM 327.7306 J613ISBN: 155655003012 reels + guide
- Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files. Africa: National Security Files, 1963-1969 byCall Number: FILM 327.7306 L99AISBN: 9780890939956Publication Date: 198811 reels + guide
- Records of the Cabinet, Foreign Office, Treasury and Other Records (Sources for Colonial Studies in the Public Record Office) byCall Number: 016.325342 G79r1998ISBN: 0114402477Publication Date: 19981 vol. Overview of Cabinet machinery and involvement in Colonial/Imperial affairs -- Cabinet committees 1925 to 1957 -- Summaries of relevant Cabinet office classes -- Prime Minister's office -- Foreign office -- The Treasury -- Major classes of Colonial/Imperial relevance in the records of other departments -- Interdepartmental committees -- International organizations -- International conferences concerned with Colonial affairs and the relevant records.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Records of the Colonial Office, Dominions Office, Commonwealth Relations Office and Commonwealth Office byCall Number: 016.325342 G79R1995ISBN: 0114402469Publication Date: 1995
- Selected Pamphlets, Handbooks, Congresses and Other Reports Relating to South AfricaCall Number: FILM 968 SE48Publication Date: 1936-19611 reel.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Sudan byCall Number: 962.403 Su21ISBN: 0112905641Publication Date: 19982 vols. vol. 1. 1942-1950 -- vol. 2. 1951-1956.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: The Conservative Government and the End of Empire, 1951-1957 byCall Number: 325.3141 C765ISBN: 0112905358Publication Date: 19943 vols. vol.1. International relations -- vol. 2. Politics and administration -- vol.3. Economic and social policies. See also The Conservative Government and the End of Empire, 1957-1964.
- The John F. Kennedy National Security Files, 1961-1963. Africa, First Supplement byCall Number: FILM 327.7306 J613sup.1ISBN: 1556559054Publication Date: 200218 reels + guide
- British Documents on the End of Empire: The Labour Government and the End of Empire, 1945-1951 byCall Number: 941.085 L114ISBN: 0112905218Publication Date: 19924 vols. vol. 1. High policy and administration -- vol. 2. Economics and international relations -- vol. 3. Strategy, politics and constitutional change -- vol. 4. Race relations and the Commonwealth. See also British Documents on the End of Empire: The Conservative Government and the End of Empire, 1951-1957.
- The Richard M. Nixon National Security Files, 1969-1974. Africa byCall Number: FILM 327.7306 R385ISBN: 9781556559785Publication Date: 200311 reels + guide
- The Struggle for Independence: Documents on the Recent Development of Zimbabwe (1975-1980) byCall Number: Q. 968.9104 B327SISBN: 3922887376Publication Date: 19844 vols. v. 1. Table of contents. Introductory remarks. Footnotes. Index -- v. 2. Doc. 1-249 (December 1974-January 1977) -- v. 3. Doc. 250-476 (January 1977-March 1978) -- v. 4. Doc. 477-695 (March 1978-February 1979) -- v. 5. Doc. 696-899 (February-September 1979) -- v. 6. Doc. 900-1050 (September-December 1979) -- v. 7. Doc. 1051-1185 (December 1979-April 1980). "Consists primarily of newspaper articles and transcriptions of radio broadcasts.Chiefly in English, with some documents in French, Afrikaans or Portuguese"--[publisher's description].
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Central Africa byCall Number: 967.031 C333ISBN: 0112905862Publication Date: 20052 vols. pt. 1. Closer association, 1945-1958 -- pt. 2. Crisis and dissolution, 1959-1965.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Imperial Policy and Colonial Practice, 1925-1945 byCall Number: 325.30941 Im7ISBN: 0112905447Publication Date: 19962 vols.: vol. 1. Metropolitan reorganisation, defence and international relations, political change and constitutional reform -- vol. 2. Economic policy, social policies and colonial research.
- British Documents on the End of Empire: Ghana, 1941-1957 byCall Number: 966.703 G341ISBN: 0112905250Publication Date: 19922 vols. vol. 1941-1952 -- vol. 2. 1952-1957.
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Part IV, From 1945 through 1950. Series G, Africa byCall Number: Q. 327.4106 B7773ISBN: 1556557701Publication Date: 19995 vols. v. 1. Africa, January 1946-June 1946 -- v. 2. Africa, July 1946-December 1946 -- -- v. 5. Africa, January 1950-December 1950
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Part III, From 1940 through 1945. Series G, Africa byCall Number: Q. 327.4106 B7774ISBN: 1556556764Publication Date: 19985 vols. v. 1. Africa, 1940-1941 -- v. 2. Africa, January 1942-March 1943 -- v. 3. Africa, April 1943-December 1943 -- v. 4. Africa, 1944 -- v. 5. Africa, 1945
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series G, Africa, 1914-1939 byCall Number: Q. 327.4106 B777ISBN: 089093617XPublication Date: 1994-30 volumes
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Part I, from the Mid-Nineteenth Century to the First World War. Series G, Africa, 1848-1914 byCall Number: Q. 327.4106 B7772ISBN: 0890936161Publication Date: 1995-25 vols.
3. Government Publications
Colonial Office (Great Britain) Publications
Annual Reports on the Colonies.This microfilm set rearranges the colonial reports by place (instead of date). Our collection includes Basutoland (1890-1938), Bechuanaland (1889-1938), Gambia (1890-1938), Gold Coast (1895-1939), Kenya (1904-1938), Nigeria (1897-1938), Northern Rhodesia (1924-1938), Nyasaland (1904-1938), Swaziland (1906-1938), and Uganda (1904-1938). Additional reports were published in the British Parliamentary Papers (uncataloged--inquire for more information), and are listed in Serial Publications in the British Parliamentary Papers, 1900-1968, pp.22-26.
British and Foreign State Papers. This serial publication (1812-1968), originally produced for use by British diplomats, is a compendium of treaties, diplomatic correspondence, and other information deemed useful to diplomats in conducting their work.
Gambia: 1965
- Sessional papers not available.
- The Gambia gazette, 1945-1965 (laws, regulations, appointments, proclamations).
- Official Publications of the Gambia at the British Library.
Sierra Leone: 1961
- Legislative Council Debates, 1925-1956.
- Debates (House of Representatives), 1958-1975.
- Sierra Leone Gazette, 1961-1986 (laws, regulations, announcements).
- Official Publications of Sierra Leone at the British Library.
Ghana (Gold Coast): 1957
- Legislative Assembly debates (Gold Coast), 1951-1957.
- Parliamentary Debates, 1957- not available here.
- Gold Coast gazette, 1922-1957.
- Ghana gazette, 1957-1959.
- Official Publications of Ghana at the British Library.
Nigeria: 1960
- Debates of the House of Representatives, 1956-1966 and Debates of the Senate, 1960-1966 not available here.
- House of Chiefs debates, 1956-1958.
- Order paper (House of Representatives of the Federal Republic of Nigeria), 1980-1982.
- Official Publications of Nigeria at the British Library.
Cameroon: 1995
- Journal officiel des débats de l'Assemblée nationale = Official gazette of the debates of the National assembly not available.
- Official gazette of the Federal Republic of Cameroon, 1965-1966.
Sudan: 1956
- No known Hansard for Sudan.
- Sudan Government Gazette, 1942-1956.
- Gazette of the Democratic Republic of Sudan, 1957-1969.
Somalia (British Somaliland): 1960
- No known Hansard for Somalia.
- Somaliland Protectorate gazette, 1956-1959.
- Official Publications of Somalia at the British Library.
Uganda: 1962
- Proceedings of the Legislative Council, 195?-1961.
- Uganda parliamentary debates, 1962?-
- Official Publications of Uganda at the British Library.
Kenya: 1963
- Legislative Council Debates, 1924-1965, vol. for 1952 available here.
- Official report (Government of Kenya, the National Assembly, House of Representatives), 1963-1975.
- Official Publications of Kenya at the British Library.
Tanzania (Tanganyika and Zanzibar): 1961
- Debates of the Legislative Council (Zanzibar), 1951-1959.
- Assembly Debates, 1960-1961
- Majadiliano ya Bunge, taarifa rasmi (Parliamentary debates), 1964-1984.
- Official Publications of Tanzania at the British Library.
Malawi (Nyasaland): 1964
- Proceedings of the of the Legislative Council (Nyasaland), 1962
- Proceedings of the of the Legislative Assembly (Nyasaland), 1963
- Proceedings of the of the National Assembly (Nyasaland), 1964
- Official report of the proceedings (Malawi), 1965
- Hansard official verbatim report of the debates, 1989.
- Nyasaland government gazette, 1964.
- Malawi government gazette, 1964-1991.
- Official Publications of Malawi at the British Library.
Zambia (Northern Rhodesia): 1964
- Legislative Council debates (Northern Rhodesia), 1924-1945.
- Official verbatim report of the parliamentary debates of the ... National Assembly, 1964-1982.
- Daily parliamentary debates (Zambia. National Assembly), 1981-1991.
- Northern Rhodesia government gazette, 1911-1964.
- Government gazette (Zambia), 1964-1987
- Official Publications of Zambia at the British Library.
Zimbabwe (Southern Rhodesia): 1980
- Parliamentary Debates (Rhodesia, Southern. Parliament. House of Assembly), 1965-1974.
- Parliamentary Debates (Zimbabwe. Parliament. House of Assembly), 1980-1993
- Southern Rhodesia government gazette, 1923-1965
- Zimbabwe government gazette, 1980-1989
- Official Publications of Zimbabwe at the British Library.
Mozambique: 1995
Mauritius: 1968
- Sessional paper, 1951-1956, 1962, 1964
Seychelles: 1976
Botswana (Bechuanaland): 1966
Swaziland: 1968
Lesotho (Basutoland): 1966
- Parliamentary debates, 1965-1966.
- Official report (Parliamentary debates), 1967-1969.
- Official Publications of Lesotho at the British Library.
South Africa: 1931, 1994
- Debates of Parliament, 1988-
Namibia: 1990