Current Events Guide to Political and Social Change in the Arab World : Country Profiles

Hundreds of alphabetically arranged, cross-referenced entries describe important people, places, issues, and events in the history of Algeria. Coverage spans every era, from the earliest human settlements through French colonization, the War of Liberation, and on to the present day ... ©2006 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

This historical dictionary has been conceived not as a history book but as a reading grid for the major historical items that are still molding the country's social, political and economic life.

A reference on the most populous Arabic-speaking country's history since 1750, providing information on westernization, European military occupation, the rise of nationalism, superpower rivalries, the Palestine conflict, and the reconciliation with Israel. Revised from the first edition (no date noted) to focus more on the earlier part of the period and on economic and intellectual history. Well cross-referenced, with an extensive bibliography (unannotated). Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

Through its maps, a list of acronyms, a chronology, an introductory essay, its comprehensive bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the most significant events, places, personalities, and ideas, this reference covers everything from the Arab conquest of the area over twelve centuries to the state of the country after the September Revolution and the dominance of the Qaddafi regime.

The third edition of this historical dictionary of Mauritania has been expanded to include political and social events over the last decade including the attempted coup d'état in 2003, the ouster of President Taya in 2005 and the inauguration of the first fairly-elected leader in 2007. Pazzanita has written two other volumes in the Historical Dictionaries of Africa series for Scarecrow, and he provides a chronology, maps and bibliography to complement the hundreds of entries on important people, places and events in this West African nation ... Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Alphabetized entries define terms related to the history, politics, and culture of Somalia. A chronology, a list of government officials (1956-1991), a list of political factions, a list of the members of the Supreme Revolutionary Council, and three maps are also included. Mukhtar, a native of Somalia, is currently the editor of and teaches African and Middle Eastern History at Savannah State University. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

This revised Dictionary contains new sections built upon the recent proliferation of literature on women in the Sudan, minority and human rights, Islamism, opposition movements, and refugees and exiles from the Sudan.

Focuses primarily on the period from the introduction of Islam in the seventh century to the present, with entries on the country's education system, social structure, important people, industry, and government. Includes a list of rulers from 800-1996. This second edition contains an updated chronology, additional entries, and an enlarged 113-page bibliography. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.