Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Music 133: Introduction to World Music

This guide can help you begin research into world music. Especially helpful for students in Music 133.

Introduction

Handbooks, guides, and bibliographies about specific composers, genres, or instruments can be excellent tools for your research!

What are they?

  • Thorough and comprehensive lists of the major scholarship about a specific topic.

Why use them?

  • To help direct your reading and research so you know what's already been published about your topic.
  • Remember: Although they are a great place to start, it is important to check when they were published because they may not be up to date on the most current research and scholarship.

Finding Handbooks & Guides Through the Library

Oxford Bibliographies (linked below) is a great online tool that collects peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on a variety of topics. Searching here to see what has been written about the topic you're researching is a great way gather background information and decide what sources to read next.

You can also find handbooks, guides, and annotated bibliographies on a variety of topics through the library catalog. We are highlighting several series that are particularly good for world music topics.

Remember that you can always search for similar materials yourself by searching for your topic AND "research guide", "bibliography", or "handbook" in the library catalog.

Browse the recommended series of handbooks and guides for world music listed below for a good place to start!