Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Retrieving Articles at UIUC Library: Online Journals & Databases

This guide will inform you of the various ways that journal and other periodical articles available through our Library resources are retrieved.

Online Journals & Databases

The Online Journals & Databases  (in addition to the Library Catalog) provides access to database electronic journals, newspapers, and databases. Search for journals and databases by title, formal abbreviation, ISSN, or by subject.  Note that the Online Journals & Databases database provides access to electronic journals, newspapers, and databases that the University Library has bought or licensed access to; many provide access to the complete full-text article. However, this finder will not search the contents of those periodicals.  The search tool will link you to the publisher or vendor site for the title. The Online Journals and Databases list is useful if you would like to locate specific journals to browse or have known citation information to get access the specific article details, including its full text when available. Literature databases are used when you need to identify and search for literature on topics in known or unknown sources.  Use Interlibrary Loan when full text is not available. Ask a Librarian for more help!

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
City Planning and Landscape Architecture Virtual Library
Contact:
Funk ACES Library
1101 S. Goodwin Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801
MC/522
217-300-4492
Website