Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding Library Materials: Online Journals & Databases

This guide provides a brief overview of important tools to locate scholarly materials as well as links to information on how to identify and locate information you need.

Library Catalogs

Library Online Catalogs are used to locate and request books and other Library items. For more see Using the Library Catalog.

Literature Databases

Literature Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of periodicals.

Online Journals and Databases

The Online Journals and Databases tool provides access to electronic journals and literature databases (aka literature indexes and abstracts) available from the Library. 

Easy Search

Easy Search is a search and discovery tool that allows you to search a variety of article, book, and Web sites simultaneously. There are a number of subject-specific categories you can limit your search to, including one for Arts & Humanities Articles, and more.  Selecting the Books category searches the Library Online Catalog, the I-Share catalog for state academic libraries, Google Books, Microsoft Live Books, and Amazon Books.  For more information see What is Easy Search?

Online Journals & Databases

The Journal Search tool provides access to electronic journals. The A-Z Databases pages list scholarly databases alphabetically, by library unit, or by subject.

You can use the Online Journals & Databases tool to find the database or journal that is right for you.  CPLA Easy Search also searches major databases in broad subject areas.  Additionally, core database lists are available via unit library websites and subject LibGuides (available from departmental library websites and the Library’s LibGuide portal page).

NOTE: the Online Journals & Databases tool provides access to electronic journals & databases that the University Library has bought or licensed access to, many provide access to the complete full-text article.  The OJD results list will tell you what volumes, issues, etc. we have access to and then link you to the publisher or vendor site for the title. The OJD tool is used if you would like to locate specific journals to browse or have known citation information to get access the specific article details, including if the article's electronic full text is available. Literature databases are used when you are needing to identify and search for literature on topics in known or unknown sources.  Use Interlibrary Loan to request article copy when the full text is not available. Contact a librarian for more help!

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
City Planning and Landscape Architecture Virtual Library
Contact:
Funk ACES Library
1101 S. Goodwin Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801
MC/522
217-300-4492
Website