Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding Library Materials: Easy Search

This guide provides a brief overview of important tools to locate scholarly materials as well as links to information on how to identify and locate information you need.

Library Catalogs

Library Online Catalogs are used to locate and request books and other Library items. For more see Using the Library Catalog.

Literature Databases

Literature Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of periodicals.

Online Journals and Databases

The Online Journals and Databases tool provides access to electronic journals and literature databases (aka literature indexes and abstracts) available from the Library. 

Easy Search

Easy Search is a search and discovery tool that allows you to search a variety of article, book, and Web sites simultaneously. There are a number of subject-specific categories you can limit your search to, including one for Arts & Humanities Articles, and more.  Selecting the Books category searches the Library Online Catalog, the I-Share catalog for state academic libraries, Google Books, Microsoft Live Books, and Amazon Books.  For more information see What is Easy Search?

Easy Search (Search Assistant)

Easy Search is a search and discovery tool that allows you to search a variety of article, book, and Web sites simultaneously. There are a number of subject-specific categories you can limit your search to, including one for the Life Sciences (includes Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, Web of Science, Zoological Record, and more.

Selecting the Books category searches the Library Online Catalog, the I-Share catalog for state academic libraries, UIUC Library e-books, Google Books, and more.  For more information see What is Easy Search?

Caveat:  Searching multiple databases simultaneously can produce relevant results, and be an excellent place to start your literature search.  But most Library databases have very sophisticated search capabilities that can only be taken advantage of directly in that database.  So for a comprehensive and focused results, searching in the individual database is your best bet.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
City Planning and Landscape Architecture Virtual Library
Contact:
Funk ACES Library
1101 S. Goodwin Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801
MC/522
217-300-4492
Website