Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding Library Materials: Literature Databases

This guide provides a brief overview of important tools to locate scholarly materials as well as links to information on how to identify and locate information you need.

Library Catalogs

Library Online Catalogs are used to locate and request books and other Library items. For more see Using the Library Catalog.

Literature Databases

Literature Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of periodicals.

Online Journals and Databases

The Online Journals and Databases tool provides access to electronic journals and literature databases (aka literature indexes and abstracts) available from the Library. 

Easy Search

Easy Search is a search and discovery tool that allows you to search a variety of article, book, and Web sites simultaneously. There are a number of subject-specific categories you can limit your search to, including one for Arts & Humanities Articles, and more.  Selecting the Books category searches the Library Online Catalog, the I-Share catalog for state academic libraries, Google Books, Microsoft Live Books, and Amazon Books.  For more information see What is Easy Search?

Literature Databases

Literature Databases are used to identify articles from peer-reviewed journals and other types of periodicals.  These databases are created by companies and other entities and subscribed or licensed to academic and other institutions.  Subject and other specialists from these companies take a defined set of periodicals and create records with details for the periodicals contents.  In general databases provide general information about individual articles and other content, such as the article title, author name, data of publication, descripter words, and article summary (abstract).  Major database producers provide a lot more details, and can allow the use of quite sophisticated searching strategies so that you can find the perfect paper!

The following are a list of major literature databases for urban & regional planning and landscape architecture with descriptions you can use to determine which ones are the most appropriate for your research topic.   You may also find links to these and other resources on the CPLA Virtual Library and via the Online Journals & Databases.

Note: Most electronic resources are available to all in campus libraries and other campus IPs, and off-Campus to UIUC affiliates via  their NetID and password.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
City Planning and Landscape Architecture Virtual Library
Contact:
Funk ACES Library
1101 S. Goodwin Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801
MC/522
217-300-4492
Website