Communication 111/112

Databases are online collections of information sources subscribed to by the library. Library databases contain access to a variety of information sources including scholarly articles, newspaper articles, dissertations, videos, blog posts, and more. Library databases are very helpful for searching across a wide amount of information for information related to your research question; however, databases also require specific skills and search techniques to be used effectively.

This page provides videos on strategies for searching library databases, explains how to use Boolean operators, and tips for effective searching.

The library offers a variety of short videos on how to find and use library databases for finding information. Below are three videos recommended for Communication students:

• How to Search Databases - video providing an overview of library databases at the University of Illinois
• Searching with Keywords - video on searching library databases with keywords and using the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT
• Modifying Keywords - video demonstrating advanced methods for searching with keywords

Library databases utilize Boolean operators to help users perform specific searches to find information on specific topics. Understanding Boolean will help you effectively use keywords to find information related to your research question. There are three Boolean operators that you will see when using a library database:

• OR - Finds articles that include EITHER keyword (more results)
• AND - Searches for articles that include BOTH keywords (less, though more specific results)
• NOT - ELIMINATES articles that include specified keyword

Separating two keywords with OR will return the most results, AND will typically give you the fewest results, and NOT will eliminate results related to your second keyword as noted in the Venn Diagrams below. Communication students are encouraged to use the Boolean operator AND when first searching and to consult with a librarian before searching with OR or NOT.

Search library databases can be frustrating at times for even the most experienced researcher! There are a couple of tips and tricks you can use if you are struggling to find useful information in a database.

Review Your Search Results

It is important to do a thorough initial review of the results that come up with each search. Be sure to review the first ten results that appear by skimming the abstracts or any AI-generated summaries of each article. Reviewing at least ten results often leads students to finding a promising article they may have accidently missed before or helps confirm if searching with new keywords is needed.

Change Your Keywords

Searching with keywords in a library database can feel like trying to open up a combination lock as you often need to try multiple types of keywords and different combinations. If you are getting too few results, try reducing the number of keywords you are searching with or change one of your keywords to be broader. If you are getting too many results, try increasing the number of keywords you are using or change one of your keywords to be more specific or narrower.

Use Filters

Database filters can be helpful in specifying the type of information source you need. Changing the publication date and source type can be helpful if you need a particular type of source. Changing subject filters may help you find articles in a specific topic or sub-topic related to your question.

Ask a Librarian

Reach out to a librarian if you are still struggling to find information related to your research question. Send a message to the Ask a Librarian chat service for immediate help or schedule an individual research consultation with library staff that specialize in helping Communication students!

Additional information about searching library databases can be found on our How to Find Articles guide. The library also has a video for finding books using the library catalog as well other types of sources in the I Need To.. webpage.