Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff Achievments
Library Building Project
Make a Gift
Libraries & Hours
Online Reference Collection
Digital Library Collections
Setup & Use My Account
Returns & Recalls
Fines & Fees
Ask a Librarian
Savvy Researcher Workshops
Research Data Service
Distance Learners & Instructors
Other Campus Libraries
Access & Connectivity
Virtual & Augmented Reality
COVID-19 Updates and Resources
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Site Navigation Menu
Search this Guide
Film Noir: Home
A library guide to American film noir from 1942-1958 including relevant encyclopedias, indexes, journals, books, film clips and more!
Books on Film Noir
Searching for Film Noir Materials
Web Sources for Film Noir
Film Noir Studies
Open access essays, glossary of film noir terms, historical timeline of movies.
Internet Movie Database
Can search for movies, actors, directors and more. Includes synopsis of movies and everything you'd find in the credits. Also includes awards the movie received.
Free movies online
Includes many film noir titles.
Film Noir, hosted by Turner Classic Movies, is a extensive site profiling the movies of noir by decade, the directors of noir, the actors of noir, and more!
The Noir Foundation
The Film Noir Foundation is a non-profit public benefit corporation created as an educational resource regarding the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of film noir as an original American cinematic movement.
IMBD Best Noir Films
From the Internet Movie Database, a list of their top noir films.
AMC: Noir Film Site
Extensive film noir site from AMC. Lists movies by type of noir. Includes sections on detective noir, femme fatal, contemporary noir, and others.
A Guide to Film Noir Genre by Rober Ebert
Film critic (and UIUC alumni!) Roger Ebert's guide to film noir
Movie Review Query Engine: MRQE
The Movie Review Query Engine is the largest online database for movie reviews.
Martin's Film Noir Page
A fun page with essays on noir's beginnings in German expressionism
This page provides a selection of resources on film noir, including video clips,
contemporary reviews, promotional materials, and research resources.
Welcome to Film Noir
"So, you're a private detective. I didn't know they existed, except in books, or else they were greasy little men snooping around hotel corridors. My, you're a mess, aren't you? "
- Vivian Rutledge (Lauren Bacall) to Philip Marlowe (Humphrey Bogart) in
The Big Sleep
(Howard Hawks: USA 1946)
"I was born when she kissed me. I died when she left me. I lived a few weeks while she loved me."
-Dixon Steele (Humphrey Bogart) to Laurel Gray (Gloria Grahame) in Nicholas Ray's
In A Lonely Place
(USA 1950), based on Dorothy B. Hughes's novel of the same name.
Reference Materials >>
Aug 26, 2019 1:36 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem