Issued yearly; 1970-present.

Includes a substantial section on historical perspectives.

See also Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society edited by Andrew S. Goudie (Call No. Q. 363.7 En192).

Online version of the 4 volume original.

2nd ed. Online version of the 4 volume original. Also available in print through our catalog. "Coverage includes culture and society, religion and ethnicity, history and politics, war and treaties, geography, and economics, generally from 1800 to the present. The work emphasizes countries or issues specifically relevant to Western readers [...] An open gateway to current knowledge about an important region in world affairs" (from the Choice review by F. H. Dagher).

2 vols. and online. See also the Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy edited by Alexander DeConde, Richard Dean Burns, and Fredrik Logevall (Call No. 327.73003 En1902 2002), and the Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations edited by Bruce W. Jentleson and Thomas G. Paterson (Call No. Q. 327.7303 EN15).

10 vols. covering 1900-1999. Each volume gives detailed overviews of significant events, trends, people, and so forth, organized by broad topic like "Business and the Economy", "Politics and Government", or "Science and Technology". See also the companion set, American decades primary sources (also online.

Coverage: 1978-present. Indexes periodical literature, editorials, research reports, press releases, annual reports, speeches, news conferences, dissertations, statistics, and books.

With supplements for 1979-1984, and 1985-1993.

2 vols. Online resource. Also available in print through our catalog. A little old, but still highly regarded, and useful as a starting point into just about any historical topic. An excellent introduction to historiographical themes and seminal works.

Global coverage dating back to 1947.

Includes historical statistics going back to 1965.

Coverage: 1982-2004.

Annual digest of statistics, drawn from the census and other sources. Most volumes have been digitized. Published every year from 1878 to 2012. Continued by: ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Population, labor and industry, trade, and so forth. Few of the statistics here begin before 1800. Still, a good overview of the kind of statistical information available.

Yearly country profiles with in-depth statistical reports. Online version goes back to 1996. Print reports sometimes cover back to the 1970s (search the Online Catalog for these). Reports include economic forecasts through the year 2030.

"National Geographic provides extraordinary coverage of the region, rich with history and culture but ravaged by war and conflict [...] A variety of themes are presented, from religion, population, and ethnic and linguistic groups to oil, fresh water, and development indicators such as trade, foreign aid, infant mortality, urbanization, and education." (from CHOICE review by P. J. Beegle)