Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 200E: Race and the City

Course guide, emphasizes Chicago, 1880-present.

1. Online Catalog

Use the online catalog to do a subject search for books or to find out where a particular book or journal is located in the Library.

Books and journals are organized in the library by subject. Each item is assigned one or more subject headings and a unique call number. Subject headings are standardized terms from the Library of Congress. The call number is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification.

2. I-Share

The UIUC Library is one of 70+ member libraries comprising the I-Share consortium. I-Share libraries share an online catalog, I-Share, and UIUC students, staff, and faculty can borrow directly from the other libraries in the consortium by placing a request through the catalog.

You can also search the UIUC catalog separately. When you use the Library Gateway, this is the first option under “Library Catalogs,” and normally you will want to start by searching UIUC only.

3. Why Bother with Subject Headings?

Why bother with subject headings in the Online Catalog when you can do keyword searching?

It's true that you can find sources on a topic by doing keyword searches. But if you limit yourself to keyword searching, you are likely to miss important material on your topic that uses other terms. If you only need two or three books, you can probably find what you need by doing keyword searches, but if you are doing historical research, you can’t afford to miss critical material on your topic. For a comprehensive subject search, search with subject headings as well as keywords.

A good way to identify subject headings for a topic is to do a keyword search in the online catalog using terms you think describe the topic and try to identify a few relevant books. Look at the full record for those books to see what subject headings were used, then do another search on those headings.

As a rule of thumb, use fairly broad headings, as well as the specific ones that describe your topic, in order to make sure you haven't inadvertently eliminated relevant material that is contained within works of larger scope. Most likely you will find multiple headings to describe your topic, and you should use all of them. You can narrow your search in the online catalog by combining subject headings (as a phrase) with keywords, using the “Advanced Search” option.

4. Examples of subject headings for the history of Chicago


Chicago (Ill.)—Ethnic relations    
Chicago (Ill.)—Social conditions    
Chicago (Ill.)—Politics and government   
Chicago (Ill.)—Race relations    
Chicago (Ill.)—Intellectual life    
Chicago (Ill.)—Social life and customs   
Chicago (Ill.)—Economic conditions   
Chicago (Ill.)—Politics and government   
Chicago (Ill.)—Emigration and immigration   
Chicago (Ill.)—History
Chicago (Ill.)—History, local
Chicago (Ill.)—History—1875-
Chicago (Ill.)—Church history
Chicago (Ill.)—Statistics
Chicago (Ill.)—Census
Chicago (Ill.)—Biography
Chicago (Ill.)—Maps
Chicago (Ill.)—Bibliography
United States—Emigration and immigration—History
Minorities—Illinois—Chicago    
Illinois—Race relations
Minorities—United States—History    
Immigrants—United States—History
Italian Americans—Illinois—Chicago   
Italian Americans—Ethnic identity
Hispanic Americans—Illinois—Chicago
German Americans—History 
African Americans—Illinois—Chicago    
African Americans—Illinois—Social conditions
African American women—Illinois—Political activity
African Americans—Civil rights—Illinois—Chicago—History
African Americans—Migrations—History—20th century
African Americans—Housing—Illinois—Chicago—History
Civil rights movements—Illinois—Chicago—History—20th century
Migration, internal—Illinois—Chicago—History
Labor and laboring classes—Illinois—Chicago
Labor and laboring classes—Illinois—Chicago—History
Labor and laboring classes—Illinois—Chicago—Political activities
Community organization—Illinois—Chicago
Packing-house workers—Illinois—Chicago—History  
Meat industry and trade—Illinois—Chicago
Public housing—Illinois—Chicago    
Neighborhood—Illinois—Chicago
Urban policy—Illinois—Chicago    
Housing policy—Illinois—Chicago
Environmental policy—Illinois—Chicago    
Housing—Illinois—Chicago  
Urban renewal—Illinois—Chicago    
Social settlements—History 
Discrimination in housing—Illinois—Chicago
American literature—Illinois—Chicago—History & criticism
Charities—Illinois—Chicago

5. Searching the Online Catalog

To search the online catalog, go to the Library Gateway and click on Library Catalog. The online catalog offers both “Quick Search” and “Advanced Search” options. Use “Advanced Search” to identify subject headings on your topic, to combine subject headings (or elements from subject headings) in a Boolean search, or to combine keywords from any part of the record with subject headings to narrow your search.

Do an Advanced Search on the terms “residential segregation” and “Chicago” to find books on this topic. (“Residential segregation” is not a Library of Congress subject heading.) Then look at the subject headings in your results (Discrimination in housing, for example) and do a Quick Search on those subject headings to find more books on the topic.

Do an Advanced Search combining the keyword “Chicago” with the subject keyword “social settlement.” Or try an Advanced Search combining the keyword “neighborhoods” with the keyword “Chicago.” Or try an Advanced Search combining the subject heading “racism” and the keyword “Chicago.”

Do an Advanced Search when you know part of the title (South Side) but are not certain of the exact title. Use the drop-down menu on the right and select “Title Words.”

Use “Quick Search” to browse a subject heading (e.g., Housing—Illinois—Chicago), to search a title when you know exactly how it begins (e.g., Block by Block), to locate a work or works by a particular author (e.g., Amanda Seligman), or to search by call number for a specific book (e.g., 363.34 K685h).

6. Digitized Book Collections

In addition to the 10 million+ printed books available to you here in the Library, we also have a rapidly growing collection of digitized books.

Internet Archive and Google Books.
Hundreds of thousands of books digitized from the collections of North American and British research libraries, including University of Illinois. These are the two largest digitized book collections that are free to use.  For the Internet Archive, the UIUC Library has digitized a large number of books about immigration from our collections published before 1923, as well as a corpus of translations from the ethnic press in Chicago, entitled the Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey.

 

Archive of Americana.
Includes Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, and Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.

ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly History E-Book Project).Includes more than 2,000 scholarly books (as of January 2009) in the humanities, made available in digital format by the American Council of Learned Societies.

Pop Culture Universe. A collection of over 300 books on pop culture--mostly reference sources like encyclopedias--along with extensive editorial apparatus like timelines, introductory essays, and more. Browse by decade (1920-present) or subject.