LibGuides: History 498A: Confronting the Great Depression: Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding historical newspapers, please visit our Historical Newspapers guide.

In order to find out if we have a particular newspaper, or to find out if we have a newspaper for a particular city or town, you can search our database of newspapers held at the University of Illinois Library:

University of Illinois Library Newspaper Database
A catalog of newspapers at the University of Illinois Library. Lists newspapers in all formats--print, microfilm, and digitized. You can search for newspapers by title, or identify newspapers by place of publication, date of publication, or by the newspaper's subject or intended audience. Only includes newspapers that are either the original print publication, or else facsimile reproductions of the original print publication.

There are relatively few U.S. newspapers from the 1930s that have been digitized, aside from the ProQuest Historical Newspapers. For newspapers other than these few big city dailies, you will need to use our newspapers on microfilm.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Mostly scattered issues of over 300 Hispanic-American newspapers. Purports to be largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" collection at the the University of Houston. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Dozens of major metropolitan newspapers, like the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, major African American newspapers like the Chicago Defender, and more. Especially strong coverage of the 20th century.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.

Current Newspapers

Use these sources to access content from the past 5 to 10 years, unless otherwise noted.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-present. Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
News from over 3000 sources world-wide (most starting in the 1990s or after 2000, but with some dating back to the 1980s.). Includes newspapers, magazines, wire-services, blogs, television transcripts, and more.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newsstream provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, starting in 2005.