Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

European Union Resources - Teacher's Workshop 2009: Print Resources

A guide to online resources for learning about the European Union.

Generally Speaking...

Although there is a great deal of information by and about the European Union that is available in electronic format, there are still some very important resources that continue only in print.  The resources listed under this tab are print resources found primarily in the Education and Social Science Library of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  Although you might not find all of them at your "neighborhood" library, many of them will be available at any academic library in your area.

Handbooks, Yearbooks, and Almanacs

A Chronological History of the European Union 1946-2001. 2002.

330.94055 v368c

Features a short introductory history of the EU with a focus on the big ideas rather than on institutions and dates. Historical events are listed in date order, with brief descriptions given of significant events.  Includes appendixes on several important treaty articles establishing the EEC, and on voting weights by country in the Council of Ministers, a bibliography, and index.

The Enlarged European Union: A Statistical Handbook. 1st Ed. 2003.

314.4EN51 2003

Coverage focuses on marketing and business info, with data presented as either in 25-year trend form or most recent complete year (2001) data only.  Features sections on population, economic indicators, banking and finance, external trade, labor, industry, energy, consumer expenditure, retail distribution, advertising, media and leisure, consumer market sizes, consumer prices and costs, home ownership, household profiles, health, crime, literacy and education, agricultural resources, communications, automotives, transport, travel and tourism, and income and earnings.  Includes table of contents and a list of key EU marketing information sources.

The European Union: A Very Short Introduction. 2007.

341.2422 P652EU 2007

A 171-page narrative introduces background and theoretical perspectives on the EU's purpose and functions, with coverage of major programs, policies, and political issues, making use of pictures, charts, graphs, and maps.  Includes references, suggestions for further reading, chronology, glossary, and index.

Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook. 1998.

305.8 L5782e

A guide to ethnic groups in Europe, Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and the Americas. Each section contains a nation-by-nation breakdown of ethnicity, listing the major ethnic groups and describing their location, population, religion and basic economic, social, and political practices.

Europe in Figures: Eurostat Yearbook 2006-07

Q. 314 Eu746

Most data covers 1995-2005, with sections on population, education and health, living conditions, labor, economy, international trade, industry, technology, environment,  agriculture, and forestry and fisheries.  Data codes in the entries allow researchers to find updated and more current information directly on the Eurostat website. Also features a 'practical guide to accessing European statistics,' a glossary, a subject index, a selection of other Eurostat publications, and explanations of several international classification codes used. A list of abbreviations and acronyms is given on a laminated insert.

European Political Facts of the 20th century.

320.94c771e 2001.

Contains short historical entries about EU and predecessor organizations.   Sections by country feature lists of heads of state, parliaments, ministers, elections, and political parties, descriptions of justice systems and population figures.  Lists treaties with year and signatories, and some descriptions of treaty contents. Includes a glossary and an index.

The European Union Handbook. 2002.

341.2422 Eu7429 2002

Provides information on the EU's development, institutions, personalities and policies. Organized in six broad subject categories: "history and context," "politics," "economics and policies," "law and society," "external relations," and "future." Includes appendices with factual data about the EU.

Handbook of European Union Politics. 2006.

341.2422 H191

Consists of four parts covering: the disciplinary history of EU studies, the EU as a polity, politics and policy making in the EU, and the global impact of the EU as an international actor.  Each of the four parts has an overview chapter, and several individually written chapters on subjects that fall within the part heading. Includes contributor (chapter-author) profiles, subject and name indexes, and a table of contents listing chapters by part.

Sage Handbook of Nations and Nationalism. 2006.

320.54 Sa18

Organized in three broad sections that examine various concepts and theories of nationhood and nationalism; talk about broad themes and topics in the study of nationalism (from race, religion, and ethnicity to migration, globalization, and sport); and look in detail at nationhood and nationalism in all the major countries and regions of the world. Each chapter includes references. An index is provided.

Treaties and Alliances of the World. 5th ed. 1990.

341.2 t71

Features an introductory essay on treaties and alliances, and surveys treaties and alliances by region, including Europe. Includes an index and bibliography.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

A Dictionary of the European Union. 3rd Ed. 2006.

341.75061403 P553d

Provides an overview of the development of the European Union. There are over 1000 entries in the dictionary including words; terms; procedures; ideas; movements and names of current member states, people, organizations, countries with relevance to the European Union in alphabetical order. Entries are brief, with cross references in bold within the entries.  Includes a list of acronyms and abbreviations.

The Dictionary of 20th Century Politics. 1993.

909.82 Sh13d

This dictionary defines 4,000 terms associated with international politics of the 20th century. Entries treat people, events, theories, doctrines, crises, wars, and treaties.

Encyclopedia of European Elections. 2007.

324.24055 En191

Features an introductory essay, 11 maps depicting European electoral results and trends circa 2004, and 143 in-depth entries with individual bibliographies, and an essay conclusion.  Focuses on using multiple disciplinary angles to understand the context, rules, outcomes and meanings of European elections. Includes a table of contents listing individual entry titles and page numbers, and an index.

Encyclopedia of Globalization. 2007. 4 vols.

Q. 303.48203 En195

Contains nearly 400 entries, from acid rain to youth culture, to cover the multiple aspects of globalization affecting sectors of society around the world. Each volume includes a list of entries, reader's guide, and a cumulative index. All entries contain a bibliography and recommend related entries or documents. The fourth volume also includes primary source documents related to the entries, the CSGR Globalisation Index that measures dimensions of globalization per country, and an additional selected bibliography arranged by subject areas.

Europe: A Concise Encyclopedia of the EU from Aachen to Zollverein. 3rd ed . 2000.

337.142 l465e

Aimed at the general educated interest, the entries vary widely in length. There is a perceptible euroskeptic tone in the entries, introduction and epigraph. Features seven appendixes, including chronology, composition of parliament, voting strengths, and GDP data.

Historical Dictionary of the European Community. 1993.

341.242.d61n

Features "descriptive and analytical entries" on people, organizations, events and developments. Includes an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and appendixes with chronology, tables, and graphs.

One Europe, Many Nations: A Historical Dictionary of European National Groups. 2000.

940.03 M66o

Details the history of people of the many ethnic and cultural groups of Europe. Arranged alphabetically by group, the work briefly outlines the major distinguishing characteristics of the groups. Each ethnic or cultural group is described geographically, culturally, and politically, followed by a short bibliography. Contains a short appendix listing each group and population, and includes an index.

* Political and Economic Dictionary of Eastern Europe.1st ed. 2002.

947.086 p759

More than 100 brief entries, some including contact information for political organizations. Includes a listing of entries by country, and an index of personal names.

* Political and Economic Encyclopedia of Western Europe. 1990.

320.94 p7594

Coverage excludes former Soviet bloc, but includes Cyprus, Iceland, and Finland.  Covers the development of European institutions since 1945 with entries on political parties, unions, federations, and key institutions.  Political issues are covered by country, with biographical information on leading politicians.  Entries on political philosophies that have international representation.  German unification is covered specifically.  Includes an index.

Country Guides

Europa Regional Surveys of the World: Western Europe. 10 th ed. 2008

Q 940.55 w525 2008S

Includes critical essays on important issues in the region, entries by country featuring geography, chronology, history, economy, statistical survey, directory, and bibliography.  Also contains a directory of regional research institutes, and a select bibliography.

Europa World Year Book. 1959-.

Q.310 Eu741 (Main Reference)

Comprehensive, up-to-date source for general information on countries and international organizations including statistical surveys, as well as demographic and economic statistics. The most recent volume is available in the Reference Library; the next most recent year is in the ESSL reference collection.

NOW ALSO IN ELECTRONIC FORMAT AS

Europa World Plus

Comprehensive, up-to-date source for general information on countries and international organizations including statistical surveys as well as demographic and economic statistics.  Includes critical essays on important issues in western and eastern-central Europe, with entries by country featuring geography, chronology, history, economy, statistical survey, directory, and bibliography.  Also contains a directory of regional research institutes, and a select bibliography.

Political Handbook of the World. 1927-.

328 P759

Discussion of governments, regional issues, and the intergovernmental organizations of the world. Indexed by geographic location, organizational name, and personal name. A chronology of major international events is also included.