Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

World Music: Other Resources

This guide can help you begin upper level research into ethnomusicology related topics. Especially helpful for graduate students or students in Music 417. Students in Music 133 have a separate guide.

The Basics

There are a wide variety of online tools available for researching music from all over the world. They include collections of digitized archival materials, ethnomusicology blogs, song indexes, and other resources.

Note: Some of the Digital Archives listed at the right are not in English. Google Translate can help you read those websites.

Blogs and Vlogs

Blogging Ethnomusicologists- This blog, put together by Dr. Barbara Alge, contains links to many ethnomusicology blogs

Digital Archives

Africa

Dagomba Dance Drumming (Tufts University)

Digital Collection of East African Recordings (Vanderbilt University)

International Library of African Music


Brazil

Projeto Acervo Memória Caiçara

 

Canada

Helen Creighton Virtual Exhibit

 

Hungary

Magyar Népdaltípusok Példatára

Utolso Ora (Last Hour)

 

Ireland

Comhaltas Archive

Irish Traditional Music Archive

Joe Heaney Archives

Na Píobairí Uilleann Source

 

Taiwan

Taiwan National Music Archive

 

USA

Archives of Popular American Music

Digital Library of Appalachia

MELE Project (Hawaiian)

Puget Sounds (University of Washington)

Woody Guthrie Archives

 

Other

Alan Lomax Archives

Archival Sound Recordings Project (British Library)

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project (UC Santa Barbara)

Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music

Free Music Archive

Internet Bandsman’s Everything Within

Kirk Collection (Indiana State University)

Open Folklore

World Music Archives (Wesleyan University)

Subject Guide

Music and Performing Arts Library's picture
Music and Performing Arts Library
Contact:
1300 Music Building
1114 W. Nevada St.
Urbana, IL 61801
217.333.1173
Website
Subjects:Dance, Music, Theatre