LibGuides: Educational Policy Studies 199BAR: Vietnam and Global Student Protests: V. Newspapers

1. Online Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit our Find Newspapers database. It is the best place to begin a search for newspapers.

The below list includes major collections of online newspapers with coverage back to 1960.

The online newspapers listed here should not be confused with the freely-available content you would find on a newspaper website, like nytimes.com or chicagotribune.com. The collections below contain digitized versions of the original print editions.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2005), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), the Washington Post (1877-1992), and the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986). Also includes 5 major African American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-203), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Times Digital Archive, The This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1960-present. 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. More information.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1970-present. Articles on women's issues, gender, and sexuality. More information.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1970-present; mostly United States. Over 670,000 articles from 200 alternative press titles, predominantly news weeklies. More information..

2. Newspapers on Microfilm

The University Library has hundreds of newspapers on microfilm, with coverage back to 1960 and earlier. The best way to check for availability of specific titles, or to browse by date and place of publication, is to consult the Library's Newspaper Database. Below are some newspaper collections on microfilm that you might find especially useful for this class.

Alternative Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 AL82
ISBN: 1059-9908
Publication Date: 1989-2003
Coverage: 1986-2003, with some outliers (e.g. titles from the 40s, 50s, and 60s). Titles from around the world. Continues the Underground Press Collection (see above). Was an annually updated microfilm collection of alternative newspapers and journals from the 1980s and 1990s. This collection has an annotated list that includes all titles in units 1 through 19, arranged in alphabetical order and by subject. Click here to view a full list of titles in the Alternative Press Collection.
Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un24
Supplements the Underground Press Collection (see above): adds missing issues from 88 titles in the original collection, and an additional 178 titles from the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. With printed guide. Click here to view a complete list of titles in the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection.
Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un2
Most titles from the United States and Canada. With printed guide. Coverage: 1963-1985. Supplemented and continued by the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection, the University of Missouri Underground Newspaper Collection, the Alternative Press Collection, and the Underground Press Collection Alternative Press Center Supplement, for all of which see below. Click here to view a complete title list for the Underground Press Collection.
University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1m
Most titles from the United States and Canada. Adds 120 titles to those in the Underground Press Collection (see above). Coverage: 1960s-1970s. With printed guide. Click here to view a complete title list for the University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection.
Underground Press Collection. Alternative Press Center Supplement
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un23
Further supplements the Underground Newspaper Collection (see above). Library has the complete collection (units 1-8) . Each unit has its own printed guide. Click here to view a complete list of periodicals in the Alternative Press Center Supplement.
Champaign-Urbana Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1ic
Coverage: 1960s-1980s.
Military Newspapers: Dougherty Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 M599
Coverage: Mexican War-Vietnam War. Titles from all branches of the U.S. military. Emphasis on World War II. Almost 2,500 titles. With printed guide.
The Underground and Alternative Press in Britain
Call Number: MFICHE 301.2 Un2
Coverage: 1961-1984. Note that the yearly releases are not confined to publications from that calendar year. Also on microfilm (FILM 301.2 UN2). With printed Guide.