PEST Databases
PEST Databases
The chart below displays databases with PEST (political, economic, socio-culture, and technological) information that BIS subscribes to annually. PEST is one rubric for country analysis and scanning the environment. This quick start chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.
If you're having trouble accessing a database or getting an error code, try opening the link in an incognito or private window. For further assistance, contact bis@library.illinois.edu.
| Database | Political | Economic | Socio-cultural | Technological | Type of Info Supplied | Regularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Source Ultimate | ✔Structure ✔Stability ✔Political Conditions ✔History |
✔GDP ✔Spending and Taxation ✔Trade and Exchange Rate ✔Foreign Investment |
✔Human Development Index ✔Demographics ✔Etiquette |
✔Reports ✔News ✔Scholarly Analysis |
Annually with occassional updates | |
| EIU | ✔Structure ✔Stability ✔Internatonal Relations ✔Corruption |
✔GDP ✔Growth ✔Inflation ✔Exchange rates ✔Forecast |
✔Population ✔Demographics ✔Culture |
✔Telecommunication ✔Technological Readiness |
✔Time Series Data ✔Reports ✔News ✔Forecasts |
Monthly with daily news |
| Statista | ✔Political Environment ▪Corruption ▪Governance ▪Stability |
✔Economic Conditions ✔Trade & Investment ✔GDP |
✔Consumer Behavior ✔Population ✔Human Development Index ▪Standard of Living ▪Education ▪Life Expectancy ▪Income |
✔Digital Infrastructure ▪Internet Penetration ▪Cell Phone Users ✔FinTech ✔Telecommunication |
✔Country Reports ✔Charts ✔Data |
Annually |
PEST Resources
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
To search for a company, type in the company name in the search box. Click on All Fields and scroll to Company Entity - CO.
Scroll down and you can search for SWOT Analysis under Publication Type.
Or search for NAICS/Industry Code, Product Name, and Company/Entity.
Created to support country market research, this database includes In-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends for over 195 countries worldwide, with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from reliable sources and reviewed by Economist Intelligence Unit analysts to provide consistent, objective and impartial coverage.
To search for a country, click Geography at the top of the page. Type in the name of the country you're looking for.
The results will show a profile of the country. You can navigate using the tabs or click One-click report to see a briefing sheet including political and economic outlook, market opportunities, and more.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
