Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 495A: Incredible India?

A course guide.

Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit our Find Newspapers guide. That guide is the best place to begin a search for newspapers.

The below are 3 collections of digitized historical newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
The New York Times (1851-2005), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), the Washington Post (1877-1992), and the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986). Also includes 5 major African American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-203), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
British Newspapers: 1600-1900.
Fully searchable collection of newspapers and pamphlets from the 16th and 17th centuries.
Times (London) Digital Archive: 1785-1985.
Fully searchable.

Film Reviews

Before beginning a search for film reviews, it helps to know the film's release date. Internet Movie Database is a good source for this kind of information.

Film reviews are usually published in popular magazines and newspapers, and you can find them in the same places you find other kinds of newspaper and magazine articles. See above for information on finding newspaper articles. Below are some other sources that you might find useful in searching for film reviews.

Academic Search Complete. Covers recent 2 decades of popular magazines.

Readers' Guide Retrospective. Covers popular magazines from 1890-1982. Search for the film title and the phrase "film reviews." For example, "Shakespeare Wallah" and "film reviews".

Film Review Index. Covers magazines, journals, and books from 1882-1985.

Variety Film Reviews. Reprints Variety film reviews from 1907-1996.

Film Review Annual. Yearly digest of important reviews. Covers 1981-2002.

The New York Times Film Reviews. Biannual compilation. Covers 1913-2000. Basically superceded by the Historical New York Times (part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers--see above).