Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 498D : Local History in a Global Context

Guide to finding resources on the local experience of global events

1. Selected Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Chicago.
Edited by James R. Grossman, Ann Durkin Keating, Janice L. Reiff.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004.
Q.977.311003 En19 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Illinois Historical Survey, Undergraduate Library
Online version: Electronic Encyclopedia of Chicago
Illinois Newspaper Project Database.
Searchable database of all Illinois newspapers inventoried by the Illinois Newspaper Project. INP is part of the U.S. Newspaper Program (USNP), a cooperative effort between the states and the federal government designed to identify, catalog and preserve on microfilm the nation's historic newspaper heritage.

2. Selected Print Sources

American Midwest: An Interpretive Encyclopedia.
Edited by Richard Sisson, Christian Zacher, and Andrew Cayton.
Bloomington and Indianapolis: Indiana Univeristy Press, 2007.
Q.977.003 Am35 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Illinois Historical Survey
Illinois History: An Annotated Bibliography.
Compiled by Ellen M. Whitney; edited by Janice A. Petterchak.
016.9773 W6121 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Reference Library, Illinois Historical Survey, Undergraduate Library
Guide to the History of Illinois.
Edited by John Hoffmann. (1991)
016.9773 G941 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Government Documents Library, Illinois Historical Survey, Law Library
Sources for the History of Champaign County: A Bibliography.
Compiled by the Bibliography Committee of the Bicentennial Commission of Champaign County.
016.977366 C357s Illinois Historical Surve; Z1278.C43 C43X Law Library
The Black Community and Champaign-Urbana: A Preliminary Subject List.
Compiled by Margo Trumpeter and Kathryn Scarich.
016.301451 T77b Illinios Historical Survey, Main Stacks
Harvard Guide to American History.
By Frank B. Freidel. (1974)
016.973 H19h 1974 History and Philosophy Library, Reference Library, Illinois Historical Survey
Harvard Guide to African-American History.
Edited by Leon Litwack and Darlene Clark Hine. (2001)
973.0496073 H261 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Undergraduate Library
Dictionary of American History.
Edited by Stanley I. Kutler. (2003) 10 vols.
973.03 Ad1d 2003 History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, Reference Library, Undergraduate Library