Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Music 110: Introduction to the Art of Music - International Perspectives: Finding Journal Articles

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Music and Performing Arts Library
Contact:
1300 Music Building
1114 W. Nevada St.
Urbana, IL 61801
217.333.1173
Website
Contact: Twitter Page
Subjects: Dance, Music, Theatre

Where to Search for Articles

► Use the "Music-specific databases" tab of this guide to learn about databases just for finding music articles.

► If you're not sure where to start looking for articles and other materials, the Music and Performing Arts Easy Search tool (the blue box on the MPAL homepage) is really useful. Use keywords to search the Library catalog and many of our online databases to see which ones have the most results. More about MPAL Easy Search and how to use it.

► If you already have a citation for a specific article, use the Journal & Article Locator to find the full-text. After entering the journal name, issue, author, article title, you will be directed to specific database(s) that contain the article you are looking for.

► If you know the name of the journal you want, search for the title of the journal in the library catalog.

► If you want a list of databases by subject that the Library subscribes to, check out the A-Z Databases list.

Please ask library staff if you have any questions or need any help!

Selected Journals

Below is a list of selected online journals from various disciplines within the study of music. Browsing these may help you identify topics or relevant sources. 

Musicology

Jazz

World Music

Popular Music/Culture

Definitions

  • Journal articles offer detailed looks at very specific topics. 
  • Journal databases (or indexes) allow you to search across hundreds of journals.
  • These databases include journals beyond those held at Illinois. While many articles are available online or available in print in our libraries, those that are not can be requested through InterLibrary Loan (see "Getting full text" tab.)
  • Articles can be scholarly or popular. For how to tell the difference, select the "Is it Scholarly" tab.
  • How do you read an article citation to understand what you're looking for? Select the "Reading citations" tab.

More

See the other tabs listed under this one for more information about finding journal articles.