Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Guide to the NIH Public Access Mandate: Links & Contacts

Researchers funded by the NIH must, at the time they submit articles for publication, also submit the article to PubMed Central for public access. This Guide explains the steps for doing this.

Contacts

Help from the NIH:

PublicAccess@nih.gov

Local Assistance:

Dan Tracy

Head, Scholarly Communication & Publishing

dtracy@illinois.edu

217-300-8439 

Ayla Stein Kenfield

Repository Services Librarian

astein@illinois.edu

217-300-2598

Finding more information

There are many links to further information sprinkled throughout this site. Here you will find quick access to all of them!

NIH Public Access website

NIH Frequently Asked Questions

Submission Process

Journals that Submit Articles to PubMed Central for Their Authors

NIH Manuscript Submission (NIHMS) system

Here's where you start the submission process!

Online tutorials for the submission process

Step by step screen shots to help the Prinicple Investigator or the non-PI (3rd party assistants) submit materials to PubMed Central

Register for a MyNCBI account

Surrogate or third-party submitters will need to register for a MyNCBI account in order to submit files to the NIHMS sytem on behalf of authors.

Holders of MyNCBI accounts can also customize their view of PubMed and set up email alerts from PubMed.

Sherpa / Romeo: Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving

Provides a summary of the permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement. Recently enhanced to show if the publisher's policies are allow authors to be "NIH compliant".

Sherpa / Juliet: Research funders' open access policies

Provides a summary and links to the policies of various research funders as part of their grant awards.

PubMed Central Deposit and Author Rights: Agreements between 12 Publishers and the Authors Subject to the NIH Public Access Policy,

A careful comparison of the rights allowed authors who publish with any one of twelve publishers.  Includes a table that outlines the distirbution rights the author has during the embargo period -- that period before their article becomes freely accessible on PMC.  [Aug. 2008]

PubMed Central

See what you are contributing too -- the world's largest database of freely available, peer-reviewed biomedical research.

PubMed

The major index for articles in biomedical journals published world-wide. Topics include clinical and experimental medicine, basic sciences as related to biochemistry, medicine, psychiatry, public health and veterinary medicine. All the articles included in PubMed Central are available through PubMed. Indexes over 5,000 journals from the 1950s to the present. Updated daily.

Freely available to all, but use the U of Illinois’ URL to see e-journal links available for the U of I. The "public" URL is: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Arranged by subject area, this is a comprehensive database of peer-reviewed open access journals. Full-text searching of many of the journals is available at DOAJ, too.

IDEALS - the Illinois Digital Environent for Access to Learning and Scholarship

IDEALS collects, disseminates, and provides persistent and reliable access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois. Faculty, staff, and graduate students can deposit their research and scholarship - unpublished and, in many cases, published - directly into IDEALS. Departments can use IDEALS to distribute their working papers, technical reports, or other research material. Most of the material in IDEALS is freely available on the web, findable by search tools such as Google.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Biology Librarian
Contact:
Biosciences Librarian: Kelli Trei, Liaison to the Schools of Life Sciences in LAS: Molecular & Cellular Biology, Integrative Biology, and the Carl R. Woese Institute of Genomic Biology

Funk ACES Library, 1101 S. Goodwin Ave., M/C 633
Urbana, IL 61801
2172442503
Website
Subjects: Biology