Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Business Policy and Strategy

This guide has been created for Business Administration 449

Market Research/Industry Reports Chart

The chart below displays databases with market research and industry reports that BIS subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database.

To access the database desired, first click on the PDF icon (above), then the PDF should download in a separate window. You will be able to click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication. 

BCC Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies.

Business Rankings Annual

Business Rankings Annual

Compiled from a variety of published sources, this annual publication provides "top ten" rankings of companies, products, services, and business-related activities, including "top companies in a certain industry," for both US and international markets.

Recent editions are available online via the Gale Directory Library, which can be accessed by clicking here or using the link above.

Older editions available in print by request from Oak Street Facility (Q.338.740973 B964).

Market Share Reporter

Market Share Reporter

Presents comparative business statistics.  Each entry features data and market description, a list of producers or products along with their respective market share, and cites original sources.

Note that the link in the online catalog will direct you to the Gale Directory Library. To search Market Share Reporter, you will need to click "Market Share Reporter" in the Select Directories box in the center of the screen.

Passport

To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.

For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .

For database help, click here.
 

Market Research Profiles

  • Almost always include industry information, especially market share
  • Who purchases & why
  • How much spending
  • Sometimes geographic and/or demographic segments
  • Sometimes has trend information, especially in technology