Introduction
Reference sources are a great place to start your research when you need to gather initial information about a topic or get a rough overview of a subject so you can decide what areas to research further. Reference books and online tools are also excellent for looking up a quick fact, definition, or date, and they will often direct you to more sources.
If none of the recommended resources are quite what you're looking for, try a search in the Library catalog for the subject you're researching and "reference", "handbook", "guide", or "companion" to see what reference materials we might have on the subject. Remember that you can always reach out to a librarian for help if your search doesn't turn up promising results!
Encyclopedias & Guides
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Call Number: Online Resource and MPAL Reference Non-circulating PN2035 O946From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity. The Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa.The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by
Call Number: Online Resource (also available MPAL Reference Non-circulating PN2035 C363)Covers all major playwrights, works, traditions, theories, companies, venues and events; details the origins of popular theatre tradition; discusses the work of actors, directors and designers; and explains theatre architecture and design. The book is written by over 100 expert contributors and is illustrated throughout.
The Oxford companion to theatre and performance by Call Number: Online ResourceAn authoritative reference covering primarily actors, playwrights, directors, styles and movements, companies and organizations.
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by Call Number: PN2220 B672004This reference item is non-circulating.
First published in 1984, Gerald Bordman's Oxford Companion to American Theatre is the standard one-volume source on our national theatre. Now thoroughly revised, this distinguished volume provides an up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present and includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more.
The Cambridge Companion to African American Theatre by Call Number: Online ResourceThis Companion provides a comprehensive overview of African American theatre, from the early nineteenth century to the present day. Along the way, it chronicles the evolution of African American theatre and its engagement with the wider community, including discussions of slave rebellions on the national stage, African Americans on Broadway, the Harlem Renaissance, African American women dramatists, and the 'New Negro' and 'Black Arts' movements.
The Cambridge Companion to American Women Playwrights by Call Number: Online ResourceThis volume addresses the work of women playwrights throughout the history of the American theatre, from the early pioneers to contemporary feminists. Playwrights are discussed in the context of topics such as early comedy and melodrama, feminism and realism, the Harlem Renaissance, the feminist resurgence of the 1970s and feminist dramatic theory. A detailed chronology and illustrations enhance the volume, which also includes bibliographical essays on recent criticism and on African-American women playwrights before 1930.
Routledge Handbook of Asian Theatre by Call Number: PN2860 .R688 2016Routledge Handbook of Asian Theatre is an advanced level reference guide which surveys the rich and diverse traditions of classical and contemporary performing arts in Asia, showcasing significant scholarship in recent years. This volume is divided into four sections covering: Representative Theatrical Traditions in Asia. Cross-Regional Aspects of Classical and Folk Theatres. Modern and Contemporary Theatres in Asian Countries. Modernity, Gender Performance, Intercultural and Musical Theatre in Asia.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater by Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating PQ7082.D7 E63 2003Latin American culture has given birth to numerous dramatic works, though it has often been difficult to locate information about these plays and playwrights. This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries. Each section features alphabetically arranged entries for playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements.
The Cambridge Guide to African and Caribbean Theatre by Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating PN2969 C363 2004The Cambridge Guide to African and Caribbean Theatre is an exploration of the rich diversity of theatrical traditions in sub-Saharan Africa and the Caribbean. Beautifully illustrated throughout, the book traces the ancient and complex roots of African theatre - still evident in community festivals and religious rituals - through the centuries of colonial domination, to the African diaspora and its manifestation in Caribbean theatre. Drawing upon the parent Cambridge Guide to Theatre, material is updated and refocused to offer a specific view of traditional and contemporary theatre activity in over 40 countries.
Theatre Dictionaries
Dictionary of the Theatre by Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating PN2035 P38D5Patrice Pavis is one of France's most brilliant academics and a leading expert internationally in the theory of theatre. Dictionary of the Theatre is an English translation of Pavis's acclaimed Dictionnaire du théatre, now in its second printing in France. This encyclopedic dictionary includes theoretical, technical, and semiotic terms and concepts.
An International Dictionary of Theatre Language by Call Number: MPAL Reference Non-circulating PN2035 I585"From ace (a one-night stand) to zits (a false beard), this compendium of 15,000 terms is a fascinating guide to contemporary and historical theatrical usage. Scope includes all aspects of drama and production, from burlesque, dramatic literature, opera, playwriting and theater management to vaudeville."
Penguin Dictionary of the Theatre by Call Number: 792.03 N422001This guide to the theatre traces its development from its origins in primitive ritual to the theatre of today. There are over 5000 entries, from activism and Auschylus to zarzuela and Ziegfield, and it includes detailed coverage of American theatre.
Online Reference Tools
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of full-text articles, essays, book reviews, plot summaries, poems, short stories, plays, and interviews with contemporary writers. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Canadian Theatre EncyclopediaComprehensive list of background information regarding organizations, performers and more.
- Internet Broadway DatabaseIBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
- Internet Off-Broadway DatabaseThe Internet Off-Broadway Database, also known as the IOBDB, provides a catalogue of all shows ever produced Off-Broadway.
- The Playbill VaultA comprehensive database of Broadway history from Playbill Inc.
- The Theatre TimesA global theatre portal with over 3,400 articles covering theatre in 90 countries and regions.