Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Monologues & Dialogues
You may occasionally need to find monologues for assignments or auditions. The information below can help you find them in our library and online.
Searching in the Library Catalog
You can perform a keyword or subject search in the online library catalog using "monologues" or "dialogues."
If you want to specify gender, you can do a keyword search for monologues and women (or men). You can be more precise and from the advanced search screen do "monologues" as a subject term/heading and "women" as a keyword.
But, there are collections of monologues for both genders that don't specify this in the title, so be careful when using a gender term in your search. For example...
The following online tools can be helpful for finding monologues/dialogues.
You can consult Play Index to find plays which may contain monologues and dialogues that suit your needs. This resource offers the option to limit your search by number of characters in a play (i.e., if you're looking for a monologue, you can limit your search to plays containing one character), and also offers the ability to limit your search by the genre of play.
Asian American Drama
Searchable and browsable database of Asian American plays. You search for monologues as well -- go to FIND > SCENES and enter "1" in the Number of Characters field.
Searchable and browsable collection of over 1,400 plays. You search for monologues as well -- go to FIND > SCENES and enter "1" in the Number of Characters field.
Non-Binary Monologues Project
The Non-Binary Monologues Project includes monologues “from non-binary, gender fluid, genderqueer, asexual, trans masculine and trans feminine characters.”
There are several indexes that can help you locate individual monologues in a larger work (play) or collection.